My first iron fitting

Capella

Journeyman Pro
blog.jutta-jordans.de
We had a demo day at our golf club yesterday, with many manufacturers there to showcase their products (Taylormade, Callaway, Cobra, Cleveland, Titleist, Ju-Cad, Motorcaddy and a few more) and you could book in for a fitting.

I've been playing the MacGregor V-Foil irons for about 3 years now after getting them for about 100 € off ebay. They always worked well for me, but they are really huge and ugly and I wanted something a bit more modern and shiny (only if it worked for me, of course). So I booked a fitting with Cobra to try their F8 irons. I already have two Cobra clubs in my bag and like them a lot and also I was tempted by the Cobra Connect system that comes with the irons.

I must say that it was a really good idea to go for the fitting instead of just buying something off the shelf. The women's F8 irons in their standard setup just did not work very well for me. They felt a bit too hard (the MacGregor irons are really soft and I wanted something that felt at least similar), so the first thing we changed was the shaft to one that is even lighter (I think it is the stock shaft for the F Max irons). That improved the feel a lot. I still wasn't finding the middle very well and kept hitting balls high and to the right. I tried the F Max clubheads as well, but they are almost as big and ugly as my old ones, plus they gave absolutely no feel at all, so I dismissed them right away. In the end the fitter had the genius idea to use the men's version of the F8 heads, which are slightly heavier, giving me better feedback about where the clubhead is and also giving me a bit more oomph when hitting the ball. We fiddled a bit with the shaft length and lie angle as well. I am quite tall and standing a bit more upright suits me better. The guy was really patient and friendly and happy to keep trying different setups until he and I were both happy with the results.