Moving tee markers

No, they were not moved to different tees just moved forward from the same tee box, interesting reply you saying under the circumstances you don't think I should have been d/q.
The markers denote the front edge of the Teeing Ground.

Teeing ground is defined in the Rules -
The "
teeing ground" is the starting place for the hole to be played. It is a rectangular area two club-lengths in depth, the front and the sides of which are defined by the outside limits of two tee-markers. A ball is outside the teeing ground when all of it lies outside the teeing ground.

Tee box is not defined but is usually regarded as a raised area where Teeing Grounds are located.
 
I'll often straighten them up if i see they have become crooked over the course of the day. Ours don't have nails to dig them in so can often get knocked etc
 
I'll often straighten them up if i see they have become crooked over the course of the day. Ours don't have nails to dig them in so can often get knocked etc

This is what I was thinking about when I asked my question.

Say someone inadvertently kicks or trips over one marker and knocks it out of kilter and then doesn't re-set it. What then?

OK on the Tour that will never happen but in an every day club's medal comp it's entirely possible; indeed I have arrived on a tee to find one of the markers considerably out of alignment, or standing higher that it ought to have been.
 
Can you move tee markers that are not in play that day and is interfering with your stance? Thinking of a 9 hole course where 5 sets of tee markers are often in close proximity to each other. Was playing yesterday (casual round) of the whites and on one hole when lining up towards the left hand side of the whites I would have been standing on yellows (not used that day). Given the yellows were not in play I simply removed it out of my way.

In competition does the penalty refer to all tee markers or only the ones your are playing or in play that day?
 
The tee markers not in use are simply movable obstructions.

As are the tee markers of the teeing ground you are playing from, after you have put the ball into play from the teeing ground. So if you mishit your tee shot and the marker is now in the way, you may move it.
 
Last edited:
This is what I was thinking about when I asked my question.

Say someone inadvertently kicks or trips over one marker and knocks it out of kilter and then doesn't re-set it. What then?

OK on the Tour that will never happen but in an every day club's medal comp it's entirely possible; indeed I have arrived on a tee to find one of the markers considerably out of alignment, or standing higher that it ought to have been.

No you can't - only the committee can.

From 11-2/2

"(b) A player moves a tee-marker before or after playing a stroke from the teeing ground because, in his view, the tee-markers are too close together, too far back, aimed in the wrong direction, or some similar reason - disqualification under Rule 33-7, unless the tee-marker is replaced before the player or any other player plays from the teeing ground, in which case the penalty is modified to loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play."
 
Top