Moving tee markers

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
3,682
Visit site
Can anyone tell me the rule for a player being d/q for moving tee markers during a round, I looked online but can't seem to find the relevant rule.
 
First question: what was the purpose of moving the tee markers?
If the player moved them in order avoid interference with his stance, the area of his intended swing or his line of play, he is penalised 2 strokes under Rule 13-2.

2nd question: was he unaware when he handed in his card that he had incurred those penalty strokes?
If he did not know he had done something wrong and was liable to the penalty, the Exception to Rule 6-6d would apply and he would not be disqualified for returning a wrong score at that hole. He would incur a further 2 stroke penalty.
 
First question: what was the purpose of moving the tee markers?
If the player moved them in order avoid interference with his stance, the area of his intended swing or his line of play, he is penalised 2 strokes under Rule 13-2.

2nd question: was he unaware when he handed in his card that he had incurred those penalty strokes?
If he did not know he had done something wrong and was liable to the penalty, the Exception to Rule 6-6d would apply and he would not be disqualified for returning a wrong score at that hole. He would incur a further 2 stroke penalty.


I was aware that you can't move tee markers after the course has been set up, i discussed setting the tee markers farther forward on the teeing ground when playing into the wind with some on committee and it was agreed that when we play holes into the wind (links course so have a lot of wind sometimes ) we would move them farther forward, played with 25 mph wind Saturday and the tees were still at the back of the tee box, I was first off and moved 2 of the tee markers farther forward fully aware I would get d/q for this.
 
I was aware that you can't move tee markers after the course has been set up, i discussed setting the tee markers farther forward on the teeing ground when playing into the wind with some on committee and it was agreed that when we play holes into the wind (links course so have a lot of wind sometimes ) we would move them farther forward, played with 25 mph wind Saturday and the tees were still at the back of the tee box, I was first off and moved 2 of the tee markers farther forward fully aware I would get d/q for this.
I would suggest that as the competition had not started (ie no one had made a stroke from the teeing ground) and you acted under an agreement with the committee, then you action was legal.

Incidentally, would the cumulative movement of tees make an aggregated change of length to the course of more than 100 yards?
 
Related to but not quite the same question.

If the tee markers are placed in the ground on two or one spikes, as most are; and if, say, you want to take your stance outside one marker (but with the ball within the markers) and the marker maker is sitting 'high' with some of the spike/s exposed above the ground level, is it then permissible (without penalty) for a player to press it down so as the the bottom of the marker is sitting flush on the ground. In this case there has been no alteration in the course's length but I honestly don't know what the rule would be.
 
Related to but not quite the same question.

If the tee markers are placed in the ground on two or one spikes, as most are; and if, say, you want to take your stance outside one marker (but with the ball within the markers) and the marker maker is sitting 'high' with some of the spike/s exposed above the ground level, is it then permissible (without penalty) for a player to press it down so as the the bottom of the marker is sitting flush on the ground. In this case there has been no alteration in the course's length but I honestly don't know what the rule would be.

Nothing to do with the length of the course. The Rule prohibits your moving the marker: that has to include a vertical movement. It sounds very much as if your purpose in moving it is to make an improvement which would breach Rule 13-2.
 
Nothing to do with the length of the course. The Rule prohibits your moving the marker: that has to include a vertical movement. It sounds very much as if your purpose in moving it is to make an improvement which would breach Rule 13-2.
I take it if he simply pushed it down and it had no effect on stance etc, would be overlooked as simply "course maintenance"?
 
Moving a tee-marker is not prohibited absolutely. Is it not just prohibited in certain circumstances?

I'd suggest that unless the tee-marker was sitting very high, on a very long spike, then it can be easily argued that it would not affect a players stance, area of intended swing or his line of play - so pressing it down would not be to avoid interference with any of them, and hence not prohibited ?
 
Genuine question.

Although a slightly raised tee-marker may well not interfere with stance, swing or line of play, it might be a mental distraction. Would alleviating "mental distraction" count as the purpose of avoiding interference to stance/swing/line as under 11-2 ?

(Ps: l have never, ever, understood why some folk set up with the ball on one side of the tee marker and stance on the other. It would distract the heck out of me - and regardless of whether the marker is sitting up, down or sideways ...)
 
Genuine question.

Although a slightly raised tee-marker may well not interfere with stance, swing or line of play, it might be a mental distraction. Would alleviating "mental distraction" count as the purpose of avoiding interference to stance/swing/line as under 11-2 ?
Given that 24-2a/1 does not permit relief for mental interference from an immovable obstruction, I would say no.
 
Genuine question.

Although a slightly raised tee-marker may well not interfere with stance, swing or line of play, it might be a mental distraction. Would alleviating "mental distraction" count as the purpose of avoiding interference to stance/swing/line as under 11-2 ?

(Ps: l have never, ever, understood why some folk set up with the ball on one side of the tee marker and stance on the other. It would distract the heck out of me - and regardless of whether the marker is sitting up, down or sideways ...)

There's a par 3 on our course where it suits my tee shot to play from as far left as possible due to my draw, plus all the danger is to the left. I often tee it up like this, my focus is 100% on my shot, I instantly forget that the marker is there.
 
I would suggest that as the competition had not started (ie no one had made a stroke from the teeing ground) and you acted under an agreement with the committee, then you action was legal.

Incidentally, would the cumulative movement of tees make an aggregated change of length to the course of more than 100 yards?

No, they were not moved to different tees just moved forward from the same tee box, interesting reply you saying under the circumstances you don't think I should have been d/q.
 
Genuine question.



(Ps: l have never, ever, understood why some folk set up with the ball on one side of the tee marker and stance on the other. It would distract the heck out of me - and regardless of whether the marker is sitting up, down or sideways ...)

I do it when I want to tee up to the extreme side of the tee to get a better line (on a couple of tees it helps to avoid having to hit over trees). As said by others it might be a mental interference for some but I have no problem as my concentration is on the ball and not the tee marker.
 
Top