rulefan
Tour Winner
???Under that statement you could count a discarded branch in a hazard the same way.
A discarded branch is a natural object, a ball is an artificial object.
Last edited:
???Under that statement you could count a discarded branch in a hazard the same way.
???
A discarded branch is a natural object, a ball is an artificial object.
Unless it's embedded apparently.
You are getting confused. An obstruction, (movable or immovable,) is man made. A tree branch is not man made, and would ordinarily be a loose impediment. Never an obstruction. But if it is solidly embedded it is not a loose impediment and cannot be moved under the rules.
The terms in the rules are so-called "terms of art" meaning they do not have their ordinary meaning, but the meaning defined in the rules. Thus, an obstruction might impede you, it is not an "impediment." Likewise a loose impediment might obstruct you, but it is not an "obstruction."
Thanks to all who have replied. I now have a follow-up question prompted by this statement:
On our course there is a pond (yellow stakes) and very close to it there's a bell (for letting people on the tee know it's ok to proceed).
Am I to understand that if my ball lies within the hazard (inside the yellow stakes but not actually in the pond itself) and I would like to play it as it lies, and my stance is affected by the bell, I wouldn't get relief?
New to me I thought hazards were simple, play it or drop it. get a stance, kick few rocks and branches away If you have a tree Lying down or an old tyre. you can't play it surely as your picking something up out of a hazard thus a penalty drop?
If that's the case your going to get everyone picking stuff out of a hazard before they play and testing the surface etc