Matchplay Rules question

I think you have to look at the reason the fella knocked the ball back.....and that reason was because he wrongly thought he'd already won the hole, so I wouldn't say he gave the putt.

I think the fella needs to be notified of his mistake, it could have resulted in a 2 shot swing, and maybe a different final result.
 
Ok then Robobum we'll put ourselves in this little scenario shall we :-

I'm stiff for 3 and you've given it for the birdie. You played out of turn and I assume your 12ft putt for a half isnt because I assume you have incurred a penalty (wrongly) so I knock your ball back to you. You say "hold on whats up?" blah blah we know the rest

I say " sorry , my mistake , I got the rules wrong but i've still given you your putt for the 3 (and a half) lets go to the next tee"

You're saying you wouldnt accept that and you would call a penalty on me for moving your ball ??

In that case I stand by my previous statement and would concede you the match no problem whatsoever. You can spout all the chidish, banal posts you want , I dont care. I do care that you would take that action on the course and wouldnt want anything to with it or you (or anyone else who did it) from that moment onwards...quite simple and straightforward imo
 
In the circumstances I do not think picking the ball up could be taken as a concession of the hole as that <u>clearly</u> wasn't the intention.

So, the only course of action if neither side could agree to a half would be to check the rules. Penalty for moving opponents ball and carry on.
 
Ok then Robobum we'll put ourselves in this little scenario shall we :-

I'm stiff for 3 and you've given it for the birdie. You played out of turn and I assume your 12ft putt for a half isnt because I assume you have incurred a penalty (wrongly) so I knock your ball back to you. You say "hold on whats up?" blah blah we know the rest

I say " sorry , my mistake , I got the rules wrong but i've still given you your putt for the 3 (and a half) lets go to the next tee"

You're saying you wouldnt accept that and you would call a penalty on me for moving your ball ??

In that case I stand by my previous statement and would concede you the match no problem whatsoever. You can spout all the chidish, banal posts you want , I dont care. I do care that you would take that action on the course and wouldnt want anything to with it or you (or anyone else who did it) from that moment onwards...quite simple and straightforward imo

Completely different scenario as you had conceded the hole after your apology, a concession can't be withdrawn or refused.

If you had not conceded then I would have told you what should happen, if you choose to take your bat & ball back to the clubhouse to find someone to comfort you then so be it. Having an understanding of the rules isn't a hangable offence is it?

<<<I'm sorry I misread your post and did not take in the bit that you were conceded a 3. So the last bit would apply, I would tell you what should happen and proceed by those rules. I wouldn't let any uncertainty regarding the playing out of turn penalty get that far anyway>>>
 
Completely different scenario as you had conceded the hole after your apology, a concession can't be withdrawn or refused.

I read it as meaning he'd agree he conceded the putt, not the hole, but I could be wrong.
 
If I get this scenario right, you have a ligitimate argument, because the opposing team did not insist the ball be replayed, that they must have accepted the shot and so, when it came to knocking your mates ball to you, this should be taken as a given shot. Effectively your mate got down in 3. The fact that they, due to lack of knowledge, recorded a win on this hole, regardless of the outcome of the match, they should be disqualified. ;)
 
If I get this scenario right, you have a ligitimate argument, because the opposing team did not insist the ball be replayed, that they must have accepted the shot and so, when it came to knocking your mates ball to you, this should be taken as a given shot. Effectively your mate got down in 3.

This is the point i'm trying to make , they both should take a 3 and move on. If the one side dont know the rules and have them pointed out to them and agree a half then fine , if the other side accept that the putt is given and agree to half then fine. What we dont want is people getting all up themselves and start calling penalties when a simple misunderstanding has taken place. AGAIN , it seems quite simple to me but then i'm not one of these win-at-all-costs type of players
 
It's got absolutely nothing to do with winning at all costs and I can't comprehend how you would want to class someone who knows and plays by the rules as some kind of spoilsport. Granted I would be annoyed if I was pulled by someone over a rules infringement but, once i got over the initial annoyance, the fustration would be with myself for either not knowing or not checking with my partner/ opponent on how to proceed.

I've been pulled on a rules thing once as a kid, knockout semi, all square on the 18th, 3 wood to the green and I press my foot down behind the ball. It wasn't pleasant at the time and not easy for the guy to do but it was a valuable lesson learnt for me.
 
Isn't it the guy who DOESN'T play by the rules that is trying to 'win at all costs'?? :D

It appears that there is some dodgy stuff going on here if folk are making the rules up as they go along!?
 
I don't read it as a win at all costs thing but a naivety of the rules and proceeding under a totally wrong assumption. At the end of the day as a concession cannot be ignored they have effectively conceded for a half.

My advice is to make sure you carry a copy of the rules at all times in competitive play and if you cannot decide, play the match to the eighteenth and seek a ruling
 
I agree that this person in the OP obviously didnt have a good grasp of the rules in not knowing that he had to call for the shot to be replayed.
 
Top