Knocking ball off tee

backwoodsman

Tour Winner
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
7,263
Location
sarf Lunnon
Visit site
Is there a Decision which clarifies the situation when a playerr starts a hole by putting a ball on a tee, then inadvertently knocks it off the tee when taking a practice swing?

I'm pretty sure i know the ruling that applies in this case and thought there was a decision which confirms the position. But if there is, l can't find it.

Ta
 
Is there a Decision which clarifies the situation when a playerr starts a hole by putting a ball on a tee, then inadvertently knocks it off the tee when taking a practice swing?

I'm pretty sure i know the ruling that applies in this case and thought there was a decision which confirms the position. But if there is, l can't find it.

Ta

I am pretty sure they have changed the rule so you are allowed to punch any one who says "one" in the face.
 
I know 11-3 covers it, but the naysayers were arguing over the bit which says " in addressing it". Their arguement ran along lines of "he wasn't addressing the ball so that bit doesnt apply" :rolleyes: (But i thought id seen a decision? But perhaps not)
 
Rule 18 applies only to a ball in play. A ball is in play when a stroke has been made at it. But see 18-2/2 re a ball which is in play on the tee.
 
Decision 18-2/19


Q.

Before playing from the teeing ground, a player took a practice swing, in the course of which he accidentally struck and moved the teed ball with his club. Did the player play a stroke or incur a penalty?

A.

The player did not make a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke”. Since the ball was not in play – see Definition of “Ball in Play” – he incurred no penalty under Rule 18-2. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.
 
Decision 18-2/19


Q.

Before playing from the teeing ground, a player took a practice swing, in the course of which he accidentally struck and moved the teed ball with his club. Did the player play a stroke or incur a penalty?

A.

The player did not make a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke”. Since the ball was not in play – see Definition of “Ball in Play” – he incurred no penalty under Rule 18-2. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.

This ^^^^ I knew I'd seen it before. Now why couldn't I find it this morning ??

Ta
 
Top