• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Knocking ball off tee

backwoodsman

Tour Winner
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
7,269
Location
sarf Lunnon
Visit site
Is there a Decision which clarifies the situation when a playerr starts a hole by putting a ball on a tee, then inadvertently knocks it off the tee when taking a practice swing?

I'm pretty sure i know the ruling that applies in this case and thought there was a decision which confirms the position. But if there is, l can't find it.

Ta
 
Is there a Decision which clarifies the situation when a playerr starts a hole by putting a ball on a tee, then inadvertently knocks it off the tee when taking a practice swing?

I'm pretty sure i know the ruling that applies in this case and thought there was a decision which confirms the position. But if there is, l can't find it.

Ta

I am pretty sure they have changed the rule so you are allowed to punch any one who says "one" in the face.
 
I know 11-3 covers it, but the naysayers were arguing over the bit which says " in addressing it". Their arguement ran along lines of "he wasn't addressing the ball so that bit doesnt apply" :rolleyes: (But i thought id seen a decision? But perhaps not)
 
Rule 18 applies only to a ball in play. A ball is in play when a stroke has been made at it. But see 18-2/2 re a ball which is in play on the tee.
 
Decision 18-2/19


Q.

Before playing from the teeing ground, a player took a practice swing, in the course of which he accidentally struck and moved the teed ball with his club. Did the player play a stroke or incur a penalty?

A.

The player did not make a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke”. Since the ball was not in play – see Definition of “Ball in Play” – he incurred no penalty under Rule 18-2. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.
 
Decision 18-2/19


Q.

Before playing from the teeing ground, a player took a practice swing, in the course of which he accidentally struck and moved the teed ball with his club. Did the player play a stroke or incur a penalty?

A.

The player did not make a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke”. Since the ball was not in play – see Definition of “Ball in Play” – he incurred no penalty under Rule 18-2. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.

This ^^^^ I knew I'd seen it before. Now why couldn't I find it this morning ??

Ta
 
Top