Iron advice

nmartyn

Head Pro
Visit site
Hi all - i'm stuck on which Irons to go for.

Callaway X-20's
Nike Slingshot 3d
Nike Sumo's

I'm a beginner so want a forgiving club - which looks half decent! these are the ones i've researched which fit the forgiveness category - which would you recommend (or any others i should consider?)

TonyN

Money List Winner
Visit site
Dont know about the other 2 but X20's are aimed at mid to low handicapper players and not really for beginners.

Have you had chance to try any cause really it should be the ones you hit the best!

If you want a forgiving club, have you considered Big Bertha irons instead of the X20's? They are aimed at higher handicappers/beginners and are alot more forgiving!

RGuk

Tour Winner
Visit site
X-20s...no comparison.

The reason is simple.....I've hit them all, and would say that X-20s are the best irons I've ever tried. If you are a beginner there's no better choice, apart from Big Berthas maybe, but once over the initial stages of learning X-20s will be OK.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I'd suggest the G10's if you are looking for a premium name. Otherwise you could look at the Nicklaus range (If you go to American Golf they will try and flog them to you anyway but thats another post!) or the Wilsons have good reviews. Other than that Mizuno are also well known for their forgiving clubs.

Basically the consenus on here is to try before you buy preferably on a range and not just in a bay in the shop. You need to be able to see how the ball flies and not just rely on a computer to tell you haow far and what direction you hit it.

As a beginner it is dependant on how badly you have been bitten by the golfong bug. You may want a middle priced set now to see how you get on and once you like the game and your handicap goes down look for a trade in and go for a better model (maybe custom fitted)

TonyN

Money List Winner
Visit site
Dave I was considering getting rid of mine! :eek: