How many penalty strokes to be added

Note 3 to Rule 20-7c says that if the player incurs a penalty for playing from a wrong place, there is no additional penalty for
- substituting a ball when not permitted
- dropping a ball when the Rules require it to be placed, or placing a ball when the Rules require it to be dropped
- dropping a ball in an improper manner, or
- a ball being put into play by a person not permitted to do so under the Rules.

So, for the player in question, there is no additional penalty strokes for placing the ball at the wrong spot.

I think you have this the wrong way round. The player who picked up his dropped ball and dropped it again is penalised 2 strokes under the general penalty for Rule 18 but is not further penalised. In other words he is not penalised 1 stroke for lifting his ball and then a further 2 strokes for failing to replace it resulting in his playing from a wrong place. It's all covered by Rule 18 without recourse to 20-7.
 
Everydays a school day , can i please ask , whats the reasoning behind it being ok for the ball to roll closer to the hole ?
Thanks

We are talking in this situation exclusively of a Dropping Zone where you do not have to re-drop if your ball rolls closer to the hole than where it originally lay provided it does not roll more than 2 club lengths from where it hits the ground. I'd say the reason is that the Dropping Zone itself might be nearer the hole and if the ball weren't allowed to roll nearer the hole, no drop would be acceptable - even if the ball stayed within the DZ.
 
I think you have this the wrong way round. The player who picked up his dropped ball and dropped it again is penalised 2 strokes under the general penalty for Rule 18 but is not further penalised. In other words he is not penalised 1 stroke for lifting his ball and then a further 2 strokes for failing to replace it resulting in his playing from a wrong place. It's all covered by Rule 18 without recourse to 20-7.

No, I'm good with it. Didn't say that he was penalized one stroke under 18-2 and a further two for playing from a wrong place. The general penalty under Rule 18-2 is the result of playing from a wrong place and a serious breach of playing from that wrong place always has to be considered.
 
The ball can roll closer to the hole so long as it doesn't finish closer to the hole than where it last crossed the margin of the hazard. If you think about the case where you go back as far as you like, the player can retreat for example fifty yards from the water hazard , then it would be strange to ask him to redrop if the ball bounced forwards an inch.

I've found that a significant number of players believe it can't go forwards and I've had to stop them from picking the ball up and incurring a further penalty.

We are talking in this situation exclusively of a Dropping Zone where you do not have to re-drop if your ball rolls closer to the hole than where it originally lay provided it does not roll more than 2 club lengths from where it hits the ground. I'd say the reason is that the Dropping Zone itself might be nearer the hole and if the ball weren't allowed to roll nearer the hole, no drop would be acceptable - even if the ball stayed within the DZ.


...
Many Thanks Guys , really obvious now that its been explained .. i would have picked & re dropped if im honest, luckily i dont encounter drop zones too often
 
Top