Hitting the ball after practise swing??

Am I right in thinking that if a PP rotates the ball to identify it - by exposing marking - there is no penalty to either player.
Need to be very clear what you mean by PP. If it is your partner, eg foursomes or four ball partner, you are penalised if your partner rotates your ball without marking first - your partner taking an action with your ball is equivalent to you doing it, per rule 22.2 and 23.5b.
 
Need to be very clear what you mean by PP. If it is your partner, eg foursomes or four ball partner, you are penalised if your partner rotates your ball without marking first - your partner taking an action with your ball is equivalent to you doing it, per rule 22.2 and 23.5b.

I was meaning in an individual competition - should have been clearer !
 
I was meaning in an individual competition - should have been clearer !
Not a partner then not a breach that gets a penalty in stroke play. But there is no authority to be touching someone else's ball deliberately and I would be saying please don't do that unless done consistently with the rules (mark first) and preferably after checking with me
 
Top