He threw my ball away!

Ah, but I did not accept it.
Immediately I recovered my ball I suggested there has to be a penalty for his action. He claimed there wasn't as it was "a simple mistake", in other words not "purposely" as the word is used in the rule quoted.

The construct of the rule is precise:

If, other than during search for a player's ball, an opponent, his caddie or his equipment,

1) moves
the ball, - he did, it doesn't matter whether it was intentionally or accidentally
2) touches it purposely - he didn't touch it accidentally
3) or causes it to
move, - it doesn't matter why

except as otherwise provided in the
Rules, the opponent incurs a penalty of one stroke.
 
Top