AmandaJR
Money List Winner
A question arose at our committee meeting last night about the hazard (s) we have running across our 6th/8th and 17th holes.
On the 6th the ditches are lateral and on the 8th and 17th water hazards as they cross the holes. The hazard is a ditch, road and further ditch. The road runs through rather than over the hazard if that makes sense apart from the 6th where it only runs through. The 8th and 17th both have a section where the road area is extended to allow golfers to cross the hazards. Currently they are considered as one hazard BUT if your ball comes to rest anywhere on the road (including the cross sections) it is treated as a free drop to be taken on the nearside of the hazard and one club length from its boundary.
Should it really be treated as 2 hazards (each ditch) and the road a separate part of the course as such and therefore a drop allowable? Is marking it as a single hazard making it so that in fact balls should be played off the road or a penalty drop taken? Or should that only apply where the road is extended to cross over the hazard?
Makes sense?? Any help??
PS. The positioning of the stakes and how precise they MUST be came to light and as that had been covered here I was able to firmly state the rule despite MrHeWhoKnowsEverythingAndMustBeObeyed initially questioning me on it :thup:
On the 6th the ditches are lateral and on the 8th and 17th water hazards as they cross the holes. The hazard is a ditch, road and further ditch. The road runs through rather than over the hazard if that makes sense apart from the 6th where it only runs through. The 8th and 17th both have a section where the road area is extended to allow golfers to cross the hazards. Currently they are considered as one hazard BUT if your ball comes to rest anywhere on the road (including the cross sections) it is treated as a free drop to be taken on the nearside of the hazard and one club length from its boundary.
Should it really be treated as 2 hazards (each ditch) and the road a separate part of the course as such and therefore a drop allowable? Is marking it as a single hazard making it so that in fact balls should be played off the road or a penalty drop taken? Or should that only apply where the road is extended to cross over the hazard?
Makes sense?? Any help??
PS. The positioning of the stakes and how precise they MUST be came to light and as that had been covered here I was able to firmly state the rule despite MrHeWhoKnowsEverythingAndMustBeObeyed initially questioning me on it :thup:
