GUR

bear

Newbie
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Hereford
Visit site
When a bunker is marked as GUR where can you drop the ball, this happened a couple of times yesterday and I said not nearer the hole , but not sure if its point of entry, ?
 
It seems appropriate that this old skier should follow Old Skier with a reply from the slopes of St Anton after a rather fine day's skiing in the sunshine.

Perhaps, Bear, you could clarify if the whole bunker has been defined as GUR or just part of it. Old Skier's explanation is good for when the whole bunker is GUR but it would be a different matter it it were only part of it that was marked.
 
GuR was sprayed in white in big letters, so assumed it was the whole of the bunker , if so was I right to say you can come out level with where the ball lay just not nearer the hole?also is there a club length rule?
 
If the entire bunker is GUR the bunker is deemed through the green. This is the rule.

i)Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the condition and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.
 
It might be helpful to add for the OP what the nearest point of relief means (you'll find it in the Definitions which is a list of defined terms at the beginning of the rule book.

Firstly, you mentioned the point of entry. That is only relevant to relief from GUR if your ball is known to be in it but not found. So forget that since you your ball was clearly seen.

The nearest point of relief is the nearest place from where the ball lies, not nearer the hole, where you can play a shot without interference from the GUR. You drop within a club length of that point, not nearer the hole. You might find your nearest point of relief is to one side or the other of the GUR, or behind it. It depends entirely on where the ball lies in relation to the limits of the GUR
 
Worth noting that sometimes committees will also establish a drop zone for relief from GUR. Worth keeping an eye out for where NPR might be in the cabbage.
 
It might be helpful to add for the OP what the nearest point of relief means (you'll find it in the Definitions which is a list of defined terms at the beginning of the rule book.

Firstly, you mentioned the point of entry. That is only relevant to relief from GUR if your ball is known to be in it but not found. So forget that since you your ball was clearly seen.

The nearest point of relief is the nearest place from where the ball lies, not nearer the hole, where you can play a shot without interference from the GUR. You drop within a club length of that point, not nearer the hole. You might find your nearest point of relief is to one side or the other of the GUR, or behind it. It depends entirely on where the ball lies in relation to the limits of the GUR

Worth mentioning also that the NPR could also be in a bush, or deep clag, 'N' is for "Nearest", not "Nicest"
 
We have a local rule for this over winter when there is water in the bunker. The rules also stipulates you must drop the ball behind the bunker on a line going from the flag, through the position in the bunker. So, might be worth checking for any local rules before presuming you can come out sideways.
 
We have a local rule for this over winter when there is water in the bunker. The rules also stipulates you must drop the ball behind the bunker on a line going from the flag, through the position in the bunker. So, might be worth checking for any local rules before presuming you can come out sideways.

Wouldn't expect to see that rule very often as it is an alteration of the rules and requires authorisation from the R&A. If it is written so it applies only when water is in the bunker it isn't actually proper application of the rules either and should be raised with the committee.
 
Wouldn't expect to see that rule very often as it is an alteration of the rules and requires authorisation from the R&A. If it is written so it applies only when water is in the bunker it isn't actually proper application of the rules either and should be raised with the committee.

We only see that rule during non-qualifying rounds of our winter league. Our course is old farmland so drainage is awful, not only in the bunkers, but around them and on some fairways. I think the rule is 'very local' and unapproved but in place to keep the course open, playable and in reasonable condition for the summer.
 
Top