Getting Worse Before You Get Better…(Opinions please)

DrGolfer

Visit site
So I’ve been playing golf as a “serious” hobby since the end of 22 starting out as a beginner.

Long story short was that during the summer of 23 I went from shooting in 110-120 to regular low 90s.

I stopped putting cards in since September and just decided to keep playing focusing on technique. I entered two club comps over the past week and had an absolutely awful set of rounds, 100+ scores.

I feel like I’m striking the ball better than ever (distance and flight) but completely fell apart going around the course. I was very gutted, breaking 90 feels far away.

What do I do? - treat these as blips on the radar and keep working on technique, wait for spring/summer until I next put cards in or do I now shift gears and start focusing more on course management?

Golf pro told me the old cliche of you get worse before you get better…

hairball_89

Club Champion
Visit site
First caveat. I’m not very good at golf, so take with a bucket of salt. For me, there’s 2 things.

1. It depends on how much worse. I know that when improving *for me* I can be going along happily and then hit a wild one that wrecks my head more than my scorecard. 1 shot out of 70/95/120 isn’t the problem. The reaction to it, both mentally and on the course, is.
2. Where is it better/worse. It’s bloody easy to be a scratch golfer on the range. Translating things to the course is a whole different thing.

Keep going. You’ll do it. And then you’ll be stretching for the next milestone that never comes. Stupid game!

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Visit site
One very frustrating thing about golf is that when things have been going well but then start going wrong, I can think that I know what I was doing when it was going well and I try and do that…and often times it doesn’t work.