DQ'd late on tee

Breach of 6-3a.

Penalty Applied using 32-1b Note 2.

See post 11.
Yes whatever, but he shouldn't have been DQ'd for arriving 1 minute late at the first tee, I think the FC who was on the committee exceeded his authority in not allowing the player to continue. Surely if there was a doubt about procedure, he should have been allowed to continue?
 

That was all you needed to post.

but he shouldn't have been DQ'd for arriving 1 minute late at the first tee, I think the FC who was on the committee exceeded his authority in not allowing the player to continue. Surely if there was a doubt about procedure, he should have been allowed to continue?

This has already been pointed out by a zillion others!

You should be DQ'd from this thread for being so late with the rule!
Chris certainly has a point!
 
Your friend should have respected the guys opinion and rules and left the course!



Then key his car on the way out
 
Yes, he was entitled to continue as has been stated plenty in previous posts - but as an aside to all this, what would be the position as regards the player having his card marked for the first hole? In the circumstances described of attempting to join in at the 2nd, wouldn't he have been on his own without a marker?

Which leds to a subsidiary question. Two players ready and waiting on the tee - the third not yet arrived by the allotted time. Given the third can still play (under penalty) if he arrives within 5 mins of the allotted time, should the other two not wait the full five mins before setting off? Is there any obligation that they do (or don't) wait?

In the circumstances described in the OP the point it moot. He picked up and choose to ding the 1st hole therefore no score to be recorded.

There is no obligation to wait that I can see but there is the possibility that the player could have approached the committee to authorise him to join another group with a later starting time (still getting a 2 stroke/2point penalty)

In this situation if the player was 1 minute late the players in the group must have started early to have hit their tee shots and already got down the fairway. This raises an interesting problem. The Rule states that Player must start at the time established by the committee. Not before it or after. Decision 6-3a/5 states that the players who started early should also have a 2 stroke penalty. The rules are also very specific about what defines a time. e.g: a player arrives at 09:00:45 or starts at 8:59 he is still deemed to have broken the rule and should be awarded a penalty.

hmmmm This could raise an interesting problem at courses with a culture of playing from the first tee as soon as the group ahead has hit their second shots. This can lead to starting before your allocated start time.

It does raise a question though. If a committee is happy to ignore the player going early should they also ignore those who arrive a little late?
 
Last edited:
+
In the circumstances described in the OP the point it moot. He picked up and choose to ding the 1st hole therefore no score to be recorded.

There is no obligation to wait that I can see but there is the possibility that the player could have approached the committee to authorise him to join another group with a later starting time (still getting a 2 stroke/2point penalty)

In this situation if the player was 1 minute late the players in the group must have started early to have hit their tee shots and already got down the fairway. This raises an interesting problem. The Rule states that Player must start at the time established by the committee. Not before it or after. Decision 6-3a/5 states that the players who started early should also have a 2 stroke penalty. The rules are also very specific about what defines a time. e.g: a player arrives at 09:00:45 or starts at 8:59 he is still deemed to have broken the rule and should be awarded a penalty.

hmmmm This could raise an interesting problem at courses with a culture of playing from the first tee as soon as the group ahead has hit their second shots. This can lead to starting before your allocated start time.

It does raise a question though. If a committee is happy to ignore the player going early should they also ignore those who arrive a little late?

I know he picked up, but was thinking more about if he'd played the hole out?

As to this 9:00:00 thing, first thing I'm going to do is check whether both our outdoor clocks show exactly the same time - and if they match either my watch, or the correct exact time?? Then find out which is the one used? I know that's what the rulles say, but how many clubs are in a position to be that accurate or restrictive?
 
+

I know he picked up, but was thinking more about if he'd played the hole out?

As to this 9:00:00 thing, first thing I'm going to do is check whether both our outdoor clocks show exactly the same time - and if they match either my watch, or the correct exact time?? Then find out which is the one used? I know that's what the rulles say, but how many clubs are in a position to be that accurate or restrictive?

The clock on our clubhouse was dead on 9 o'clock on Saturday, only problem is it was 10:15 :D
 
Reflecting on the 5 minutes "grace" before disqualification, I can see a practicality about it. You have a group of 3, one of whom is late. If the two players tee off at the correct time, as they must, by the time they have each played, gathered their kit and set off down the 1st, how far on are they if the 3rd player turns up ready to play just within 5 minutes? Not so far that they can't just step aside, let the latecomer tee off, play their second/third shots while he is walking - that sort of thing. More than 5 and the group is further ahead and you are also encroaching on the scheduled time for the next group. Very practical and no doubt carefully thought through by the rule makers.
 
Reflecting on the 5 minutes "grace" before disqualification, I can see a practicality about it. You have a group of 3, one of whom is late. If the two players tee off at the correct time, as they must, by the time they have each played, gathered their kit and set off down the 1st, how far on are they if the 3rd player turns up ready to play just within 5 minutes? Not so far that they can't just step aside, let the latecomer tee off, play their second/third shots while he is walking - that sort of thing. More than 5 and the group is further ahead and you are also encroaching on the scheduled time for the next group. Very practical and no doubt carefully thought through by the rule makers.

That also covers the Marker situation that Backwoodsman raised. Not so far ahead that they can't observe shots sufficiently to be able to certify his Scorecard.
 
Top