DQ'd late on tee

woody69

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
2,676
Visit site
My friend was DQ'd from the monthly stableford comp this weekend. The reason "Late on tee".

The problem is, he says he was on the tee at 08:21 - tee time was 08:20 and his FC's were walking up to their ball after having tee'd off already. The competitors due off at 08:30 said the other 2 had tee'd off early. My friend waited for them to take their 2nd shots before teeing off himself, but he didn't play his 2nd and picked up to join them on the 2nd tee. It was at this point his FC (the chairman of the handicap committee) said he was late so couldn't join the comp. My friend suggested under rule 32-1 Note 2 he should just blob the first and continue, but the FC was having none of it

Any idea where he stands here? He was well within 5 minutes on the 1st tee, the other guys had more than likely tee'd off early, but he has no way to really confirm he was within 5 mins as he didn't join them until they'd reached the 2nd.

He's going to write to them to get clarification, but if the others had tee'd off before their designated time how can anyone prove they are within 5 minutes if they don't join them until the 2nd?
 
Technically a penalty does apply, but 1 minute is so minor and uncertain that it would be an uber-pedant who would insist on a penalty.

Unfortunately some committee people are like that and there is not much you can do except say 'Jawohl, mein fuhrer' to them.

Ironically, if the other group went off early, they, including the clock Nazi, get penalised for that. If they were near their second shots at 1 minute after the starting time, sounds like they were off the mark a bit early.
 
i wouldn't want to continue the round anyway if the players obviously didnt want you to join them. Rule or no rule, surely we all play this for enjoyment, even in comps
 
Id be looking for another club to join.

Its a bit sad that things like that happens , I only ever tee off early in a comp if, ....... 1, all the group are present ,..... 2 its clear in front, there is a gap in the tee times . as he was not that late , is it not a 1 shot penalty , I am not clear on this rule so I stand to be corrected , I would write in that they tee off early and ask them to prove that they did not , if he was one min late , his FC should still be on the tee or just leaving it , everything said its a not a nice state of affairs ................lastly I would never play with that lot again
 
The Committee man is out of date! As well as (probably) being a pillock!

Up until 2012 he would have been correct. From 2012, 2SP/LoH if up to 5 minutes late. Greater than 5 minutes is DQ.

Rule 6.3.a

Sort the B out!
 
The Committee man is out of date! As well as (probably) being a pillock!

Up until 2012 he would have been correct. From 2012, 2SP/LoH if up to 5 minutes late. Greater than 5 minutes is DQ.

Rule 6.3.a

Sort the B out!

One for the DDS me tinks ;);):)
 
DDS?:confused:

He probably still believes that 1-balls 'have no standing'!:temper:!

Davao Death Squad , was something mention in another thread , method in certain areas of the Philippines to clear out bad elements of society . in this case only kidding just ;)

Mr rules , you get them at every club , like I said , its a sport we play for love and enjoyment , so why this carry on for such a small matter ...............I shoot him meself :)
 
The player who was 1 minute late should have been penalised 2 strokes not disqualified. The players who started early should also have been penalised 2 strokes for not starting at the time established by the Committee.
 
Davao Death Squad

:rofl:

Gad. How could I have forgotten that! I'd even used them in a similar context! Most certainly!

OP should demand an apology from the FC/Chairman of Handicaps - I certainly would! And compensation too! Needs something like that to get the message across!

It's the stupid way in which these idiots try to apply 'rules' that gets up my nose! Even if there's doubt as to whether he can 'join the competition', there's nothing to prevent him playing as if he can, then determining, for certain, whether it was valid or not!

Btw. Had you been allowed to continue, score would have a FURTHER 2 points deducted, not just a Blob for the 1st. In effect, standing on the 2nd Tee with -2 points.
 
Heaven forbid this was just an honest mistake by your 2 playing partners?

Written apologies and compensation!!!??? Oh my days.

Enough threads on here to show that rules are misinterpreted pretty regularly.

Chalk it up, you were late and will probably learn from that. They were incorrect and, once given correct process, should learn from that too.
 
The rule says: If the player arrives at his starting point, ready to play, within five minutes after his starting time, the penalty for failure to start on time is loss of the first hole in match play or two strokes at the first hole in stroke play. Otherwise, the penalty for breach of this Rule is disqualification.

The committee exceeded its authority by DQing the player. Rule 32-1 Note 2 tells how to score the hole.
 
Last edited:
Technically a penalty does apply, but 1 minute is so minor and uncertain that it would be an uber-pedant who would insist on a penalty.
Can the committee ignore a rule that says the player "must" start on time because it was a minor infraction?
 
Heaven forbid this was just an honest mistake by your 2 playing partners?

Written apologies and compensation!!!??? Oh my days.
Had it been a 'normal' FC, that might have been the case - though I'd still be p-eed off.

But he was Chairman of the Handicap Committee, so someone 'in authority' even though playing as a simple club member.

I can actually forgive his ignorance of the Rule, but not his action

By stating he couldn't 'join the competition', he was most definitely exceeding his authority. Stating 'that might mean a DQ, but we'll find out afterwards' would have been the sensible thing to do.

There are times when making a fuss is the only way to get the message through, and I believe this is one of them!
 
Last edited:
Heaven forbid this was just an honest mistake by your 2 playing partners?

Written apologies and compensation!!!??? Oh my days.

Enough threads on here to show that rules are misinterpreted pretty regularly.

Chalk it up, you were late and will probably learn from that. They were incorrect and, once given correct process, should learn from that too.

Who said anything about written apologies and compensation? I said he was writing to them to get clarification on why he was DQ'd and perhaps like you say, raise the point and get them to learn from their error.

I'm with Foxholer here. This guy exceeded his authority. He should have just said, "oh, I think you're disqualified for turning up late, but let's just continue the round as is and we'll check the rules at the end", not be rude with his insistence doing no more than put my friend off playing
 
Despite its faults, things I read on this forum make me more and more grateful about the club I play at and the people who play there.
 
Top