DQ offence?

Jack991

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
118
Location
Aylesbury
Visit site
Right let me set the scene,

Club midweek stableford has prizes for top 3 finishers, I shoot 40 points (nett 77) and come in Second place (or so I thought). Competition has been finalised today and it appears I have been disqualified for lack of confirmation signature where my marker has had to correct one of my hole scores ? And as if to rub salt into the wounds the club have cut my handicap by a shot (which I was expecting but I think it is unfair for them to allow me to get cut and yet not place in the stableford)?

Opinions please ?
 
Seems a bit harsh to me, not sure what the actual rules would have to say. If that happens to me I'll usually get it initialled but pretty sure I've put some in without and not been DQ'd.
 
Decision 6-6a/6

Q.May a Committee require that alterations made on score cards be initialled?
A.No. Nothing is laid down in the Rules of Golf as to how alterations should be made on a score card.
 
Handicap reductions after DQ are quite common. Infact I can't see any reason for not performing the cut if you shot the score.

I'd certainly be having a go about the DQ though !!
 
Most cards I've had have alterations and so long as the details are clear then no problem and I've never heard about initialling alterations - robbed imo - go tell 'em
 
I really hate these situations; the committee has, effectively, stuffed you.

As presented they are in error, as rosecott has explained. However, once they close the competition they are unable to recind this penalty (34-1b)!

So, at best you should get an apology from them; and they should review their practices.

If they do not accept that they made an incorrect decision then you should request that a written statement of the situation is agree, and submitted through the correct route to the Rules of Golf Committee. On the basis of what you have said they will say that you shouldn't have been DQ'd and your committee were wrong, but that the competition results have been finalised and stand.

Which is why I hate such situations.

It shouldn't need that - point to 6-6a/6, they mumble an apology, game over.

Do let us know what happens please
 
Our committee would take it on the chin, and their wallet. Last time a similar thing happened they simply added another prize out of the committee funds. Couldn't change the official results but at least the person involved got their handicap reduction AND their prize too.
 
Our committee would take it on the chin, and their wallet. Last time a similar thing happened they simply added another prize out of the committee funds. Couldn't change the official results but at least the person involved got their handicap reduction AND their prize too.

Perfeck :)
 
Our committee would take it on the chin, and their wallet. Last time a similar thing happened they simply added another prize out of the committee funds. Couldn't change the official results but at least the person involved got their handicap reduction AND their prize too.


And that is exactly what they should do along with a proper apology -too many people come on to the committee and dont learn the rules before jumping to a decision that they only needed to research firs,t so that they get it right
 
I thought the majority of you would agree with my point of view,

All i have done for now is send an email to the club captain because I am on quite good terms with him and if he can't do anything I will have a word with the secretary cause I think it is a little out of order :/
 
I always thought that any changes to a score had to be initialed by the player.
Done that for 55 years.
I would have thought the reasons were obvious.

It's a myth.
You've been living a lie all these years ;)
I know the rule but still initial any changes just in case.
You know what committees are like :whistle:
 
Bonkers that you can be Dq'd because the C'tee don't know the Rules.

After a bit of a browse through the Rules and decisions I guess the problem is that this would be regarded as an incorrectly applied penalty which, as stated above, can't be rescinded after the comp has closed, rather than an administrative error by the C'tee, which can.

Apology and additional prize and note on the notice board in order methinks.
 
Bonkers that you can be Dq'd because the C'tee don't know the Rules.

After a bit of a browse through the Rules and decisions I guess the problem is that this would be regarded as an incorrectly applied penalty which, as stated above, can't be rescinded after the comp has closed, rather than an administrative error by the C'tee, which can.

Apology and additional prize and note on the notice board in order methinks.

Indeed

there is some logic, you have to draw a line sometime!

as ever the real problems are when people think they know the rules - process and procedure normally win through when either players or committee aren't 'absolutely sure' (which isn't of course the same as being correct.
 
Hopefully common sense will prevail and if a precedent has been set before for erroneous D/Q's then you should get the cut and the prize. In which case I'd be happy and the apology would just be an additional bonus
 
Top