Double hit on the green

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
36,967
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Visit site
Our greens were tined and sanded on Monday and Tuesday.
Yesterday, while hitting a putt I managed a double hit.
Probably a grain 9f sand between the face and the ball, the first touch barely moved the ball more than 6 inches.
On the follow through I made contact again and this gave the ball enough juice to make the hole...
Totally unintended
Ok or not?
As double hits don't count now I thought OK but then things are often different on the green.
 

MACM85

Newbie
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
322
Visit site
I had this in a matchplay and what I read was if the original stroke continued as intended then a double hit is fine.

If you made an intentional swing/stroke to alter the original ball after it was hit then it is a penalty

Someone will dig out the official ruling though
 

salfordlad

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
896
Visit site
Rule 10.1d. Ask Mr Mickelson for verification - he is well acquainted with it.
And the interesting after-effect of that US Open incident was RB's adding (from 2019) another bullet point to Rule 1.2a/1's examples of Serious Misconduct - a not so subtle message to Phil and others so motivated - "the consequences of trying that on again could be considerably greater, at the discretion of the Committee".
 
Top