Disqualification if player did not return?

Thread starter #1

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
2,243
Location
Cumbria
Singles Medal. Player hits ball and thinks it may be lost. plays a provisional. Finds “1st ball” and plays the ball. It is not his 1st but his 2nd but declares it was his 1st. He then realises it was his 2nd ball but does not go back and carries on playing 4.

I thought he had played a wrong ball and if he did not go back he would be disqualified.

1. Is this correct?
2. If he went back having played a wrong ball would his provisional ball have had a General penalty, add 2 shots, and therefore be playing 6?

Thanks for your help
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,276
Location
Edinburgh
Provided he had not found his original ball before making a stroke at his provisional from nearer the hole than where his original is likely to be, he was correct to continue with the provisional.
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
11,128
No. As he did not find his original his provisional became the ball in play.
Until he plays his provisional from a point beyond where he believes his original might be it is still his provisional. If he finds his original before then he would have played a wrong ball. But as soon as he plays the provisional from beyond that point it becomes the ball in play.
 
Thread starter #5

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
2,243
Location
Cumbria
The ball he plays is not his 1st but his provisional. He states it his his 1st when it is his provisional. Does that make any difference re playing the wrong ball?
 
Top