Dead Grass Recovery

AddisonRoad

Visit site
If you live in the Southeast, you're well aware of how scorched courses are at the moment. I've never experienced conditions this dry (I only started playing in the last couple of years), so I was wondering: How long will it take for courses to recover once we get some rain?

Mandofred

Visit site
From that dry summer we had a few years ago......about a year before the fairways were back to "normal" (or close enough). The really dead area's might have even taken a little longer.

PhilTheFragger

Provider of Entertainment for the Golfing Gods 🙄
Visit site
A few weeks mostly, but there will be areas that will need to be reseeded and they will take longer

There will be certain bits that will take 18 months to fully recover

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
There is a little 9 hole links course near to me that goes brown most summers. One of the holes tees off from a hill and you look down on the course and the only green dots are the tees and greens. Everything else can go straw coloured. It's back to green within a few weeks, a month at most.

It clearly varies from place to place but grass is pretty darned tough.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
One of the problems is that where there is a lot of heavy trolley traffic the grass may well have totally disappeared anyway. The only recovery from that is a reseed or returf.

We had to reseed many areas of one particular fairway a few years after a similar situation and will probably have to do so again this September.

In my opinion where the grass has just got parched and brown just a matter of a week or so after a good watering. Problem is with the forecast it may well brown out again.

Crow

Crow Person
Visit site
The fairways aren’t an issues as we still have some grass, im worries about the tee boxes as ours have pretty much turned to dust

Our tees get an occasional watering, but this raises another problem.