Damaged Left Wrist

Costa

Visit site
Hi I've been playing golf for around four years now and although ive shot under 28 handicap 4 times in club competitions the best being 21 over par im struggling with consistency and never seem to back a good score up with another so don't make any inroads into my handicap. It is really a mixed bag in terms of score. I have a badly damaged left wrist from playing football years ago and falling on it which broke the scaffoid bone. I've had an operation and now it has limited movement which me means I can't really cock or hinge the wrist as it should at the top of the back swing. It probably affects the contact also. Does anyone know if this could be the problem with my consistency and also distance. If so is there anything I can do about it?

Thanks Richard

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
Without seeing the swing it's impossible to deal in absolutes.

However, on balance it's more likely that the inconsistency has some roots in your concious, or subconcious, efforts to maintain your idea of a full swing/hinge/wrist cock. Battling a restrictive element in your physical capabilities is not recommended - work with a physio outside the game, but work with what you have within the game.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
If you look at the club golfers where you play you’ll see a whole variety of horrendous swings just by watching a few groups tee off at the weekend, some of these folks will be getting respectable scores despite their dodgy knees, arms, wrists, hips etc etc etc