Council course

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
Following on from the is golf expensive thread, got me thinking about cheap entry level golf such as council courses. Inverness no longer has one, but where we lived when I started playing, there was a 9 hole course that was just pap, as well as 3 council owned 18 hole course's that were within 15 miles. I remember in the 70 s and 80 s when by brother played,him and his mates could only get on these local council course's and they were still quite cheap to play. Remember playing the one in Welwyn panshanger for less than £10
Does your town still have one and is it still cheap to play.

Last edited:

PJ87

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Poult wood golf club just outside of Tunbridge

Council owned and run , used to be under £15 when I played it with my dad every week

Very good condition for a council run course and their winter tees were better than most clubs!

Jigger

Club Champion
Visit site
We have a 9 hole par 3 course in the area which is about £10 to play. Very casual. Sadly the council courses have closed.

I saw a dangerous video on the BBC about “re-wilding” a closed golf course. Just in the way it was made to be short it almost subconsciously implied golf courses are the scourge of the countryside and that wildlife that was almost surely there beforehand had only just returned.

MACM85

Visit site
Crookhill in Doncaster is council run. Played it a few times at a charity golf day. Nice little course a bit rough around the edges. Think annual membership is £400 and a guest rate was like £15.

You get what you pay for. Won't be winning any awards for the condition of the course and greens etc.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
We've lost the 2 golf courses in the town in the last 5 or 6 years.
One was where most of us started...it began as a 9 holer and was expanded to 18 a few years later. Flat, pretty straight forward...a nice beginners course.