Conceded putt not accepted?

Tin Soldier

Newbie
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
1
Visit site
Can you ask your partner who is on a similar line as yourself, to putt out, so as to give you a better read of your crucial putt, even though your opponents have conceded it, in a fourball matchplay competition?
 
Nope..

2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke

Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole.


Sorry Alex..
 
Last edited:
Yep but if he misses it would count.

Well no, Alex. You cannot decline a concession and as soon as the putt has been conceded it is deemed to have been holed with the next stroke. The point of the concession was of course to prevent the Tin Soldier's partner helping with the line, so as said above, to putt would be out of order and would be penalised.
 
Last edited:
Well no, Alex. You cannot decline a concession and as soon as the putt has been conceded it is deemed to have been holed with the next stroke. The point of the concession was of course to prevent the Tin Soldier's partner helping with the line, so as said above, to putt would be out of order and would be penalised.

Is the correct answer - as usual.

And RickG has pointed out the Rule.
 
I had a concession taken back last year in a tab it's match and it was the one day I didn't take my rules book out and wasn't 100% sure. :(
 
I had a concession taken back last year in a tab it's match and it was the one day I didn't take my rules book out and wasn't 100% sure. :(

If it was an important match, it would have been worth making a claim.

Now, I know the rules pretty well, but, erm, what is a 'tab it's match' :confused:
 
I had a concession taken back last year
That reminds me of something that happened about a year ago. My wife & I were playing in a mixed greensomes. We were on a fairly steeply sloping green. She putted and the ball briefly stopped about 2 inches short of the hole. At it did so, one of our opponents said "thats ok". But as he said this, the ball rolled back down the slope and ended up about 3 feet short of the hole, so he immediately said "oh no, it's not" - clearly withdrawing his concession. Was he entitled to do that, given that the concession and withdrawal almost happened in the same breath?
 
Once uttered, that's it.

In the situation described, that may not be correct. If the ball moved again as quickly after it apparently stopped it could be that it was not at rest. In which case, there was no concession since a concession can only be made for the next stroke if the ball is at rest. The critical question, which we can't answer as we did not see the event, is whether the ball came to rest and then moved or was not at rest and continued to move.
 
In the situation described, that may not be correct. If the ball moved again as quickly after it apparently stopped it could be that it was not at rest. In which case, there was no concession since a concession can only be made for the next stroke if the ball is at rest. The critical question, which we can't answer as we did not see the event, is whether the ball came to rest and then moved or was not at rest and continued to move.
Well, the ball must have been at rest for some small period of time, as it went up the hill and then came back down. From my memory of the incident, I'd say it was probably stationary for about half a second. Whether the utterance of "that's ok" happened during that half a second is debatable.

As it happens, I'm a fairly laid-back kind of guy and was happy to accept that there was no concession. Fortunately I did hole the next putt, so no damage was done. (And funnily enough, having seen what had happened to my wife's putt, our lady opponent then proceeded to do exactly the same thing - stick it to within a few inches, only to see it roll back to where she played it from!)
 
Well, mathematically, the ball must have been motionless if only for a fraction of a second! It does sound to me as if the rolling back so quickly means that it wasn't at rest. But that is just my interpretation.
 
Well, mathematically, the ball must have been motionless if only for a fraction of a second! It does sound to me as if the rolling back so quickly means that it wasn't at rest. But that is just my interpretation.

Are you saying that if my opponent's ball just misses the hole and will come to a stop 6 inches past the hole, I connot concede the following putt until it has stopped?
And if I do concede it while it's 'stopping' then the concession doesn't count?
 
That's right, Bob. The wording in Rule 2-4 is quite clear:

A player may concede his opponent’s next stroke at any time, provided the opponent’s ball is at rest.

I can't imagine anyone being too bothered in the circumstances you describe, though.
 
In the situation described, that may not be correct.
Well it was said that 'the ball stopped'.
Everthing that posits that it might not have stopped is speculation, although relevant to the general topic.
If it came back down the same line, the laws of physics / mechanics says it stopped.
 
Top