Colin L
Tour Winner
Well it was said that 'the ball stopped'.
Everthing that posits that it might not have stopped is speculation, although relevant to the general topic.
If it came back down the same line, the laws of physics / mechanics says it stopped.
My apologies for suggesting what you said wasn't correct instead of just suggesting the possibility that the concession wasn't valid in the first place. I must explore further what "at rest" signifies as it seems to me that a ball that is going uphill, stops (as it must no more matter how momentarily) and then rolls back has not been at rest. Elsewhere, the Rules contemplate a ball that is apparently stopped can have some sort of residual movement for the time it takes to walk across the green to it plus another 10 seconds. That's a lot longer than it took the ball in the OP's description to start rolling back.
I'm off to think about it.