Changing right to left handed

Exactly, so try and see the bigger picture.

In the normal course of events, the player has already stated that he plays all shots left handed from around 130 yards or less. The fact that he carries the relevant left handed clubs in his bag backs this up.

I can't grasp why you don't understand that in the scenario given, the ONLY reason that he is addressing the ball right handed from 90 yards is because the tree interferes,hence he is trying to get a free drop. If the tree wasn't there he would just hit his normal left handed shot.
if he doesn't get the drop his options are play as it lies or take the penalty, I then asked if a ball was up against a wall and had no shot left handed but perfectly able for a right hander to play it would he insist he again plays it as it lies or insist he takes a penalty, what's the difference? He's the one enforce this 130yd crap.
You can't make a player play a particular way.

I perfectly understand the issue with your very first question on this forum, I just don't think this relates to it, his opponent wasn't manafacturing a shot, it was a shot he was clearly capable of playing with the same club.
 
I perfectly understand the issue with your very first question on this forum, I just don't think this relates to it, his opponent wasn't manafacturing a shot, it was a shot he was clearly capable of playing with the same club.

You therefore have not grasped the issue.
 
Irrespective of the rules for claiming a drop right or left handed, to do so then play the shot the other way round is quite clearly against the spirit of the game. Sounds a bit 'win at all costs' to me.
 
You therefore have not grasped the issue.
The rules guys on here have explained it to you and it is you who is failed to grasp the situation, what the guy did was fine.
You just won't accept it.
 
Irrespective of the rules for claiming a drop right or left handed, to do so then play the shot the other way round is quite clearly against the spirit of the game. Sounds a bit 'win at all costs' to me.
Nowhere did it say he was going to play the shot the other way round once he took the drop.
 
You really do get shallow when you can't actually answer the points put to you.

I've answered the points very well.

You don't understand that a player cannot choose to play a particular shot with the sole purpose of getting a free drop from a bad lie.
 
Surely it comes down to what your "normal" shot would be from the given position.
If, from 90 yards, your normal shot is right handed, why should you be able to play it left handed with a view to getting a free drop..?

Say I drove into the rough ( not unusual!) and my ball was close to a staked tree.
My normal shot would be right handed and that shot is feasible.
What would stop me from choosing to play left handed - now the tree interferes with my swing and I get a free drop.
After the drop I decide to play right handed.
That's wrong...And if the rules say it's not wrong then they should...

The guy in question "normally" plays whatever hand it is from this distance.
He shouldn't be allowed to change just because it gives him a drop - what possible reason could he have for using a completely inappropriate club for the shot in question unless it is to get the drop..?
If he regularly chops and changes then it wouldn't be an issue. But having only short irons in one hand and long clubs in the other, the implication is that he's changed hand just to get the drop...
Just my view and quite possibly at odds with the rules....But I'm with Three on this one.
 
I've answered the points very well.

You don't understand that a player cannot choose to play a particular shot with the sole purpose of getting a free drop from a bad lie.

Are you kidding?

Watch the PGA tour, players do it all the time.

DJ when he won his major, hit a ball into some deep rough. He claimed a free drop because the tv tower was in the line of the shot he wanted to take.

He got a drop so he could hit his shot around it, but he always intended to go straight over the tower anyway.


You use the rules to your advantage, you don't break them however.
 
I've answered the points very well.

You don't understand that a player cannot choose to play a particular shot with the sole purpose of getting a free drop from a bad lie.

Yes I know he can't use the rules that way the same way you or anyone can't insist that he plays every shot from 130 and under left or right handed, he was competent both ways and is therefore in the situation not unreasonable, it has been explained to you numerous times in the scenario described the compotent player playing in a scratch league was more than capable of playing the shot with right handed clubs, unlike your situation of a 300yd wedge,

Even clubchamp accepted the decision but still doesn't agree with it, you seem the only one unable to accept it.

Obviously he should of played 2 balls and sorted it out afterwards.
 
Are you kidding?

Watch the PGA tour, players do it all the time.

DJ when he won his major, hit a ball into some deep rough. He claimed a free drop because the tv tower was in the line of the shot he wanted to take.

He got a drop so he could hit his shot around it, but he always intended to go straight over the tower anyway.


You use the rules to your advantage, you don't break them however.

Completely different.
He's not switching to left hand to play the shot.
He'd get relief from the TV tower whatever hand he played.
 
Yes I know he can't use the rules that way .

So why are you contradicting yourself then?

He had no clubs in his bag to hit right handed shots 90 yards. But all of a sudden, because there's a staked tree when he has a bad lie, he addresses the bill right handed when everyone knows he didn't really want to play right handed.
 
Completely different.
He's not switching to left hand to play the shot.
He'd get relief from the TV tower whatever hand he played.
I believe he only got relief because he said it was on his intended line, by getting relief he had it moved out the rough and onto npr which was first cut or fairway so he had clear line of sight and then played it over the tv tower, integrity? The rules allowed it, but you could question whether he just wanted a better lie.
 
So why are you contradicting yourself then?

He had no clubs in his bag to hit right handed shots 90 yards. But all of a sudden, because there's a staked tree when he has a bad lie, he addresses the bill right handed when everyone knows he didn't really want to play right handed.
It's old ground now, have you never used the wrong club for the right shot, he may of been considering a 6 or 7 iron to bump it low.

Good to see you agree he had the ability to play right handed from there though so the shot wouldn't of been unreasonable.
 
I believe he only got relief because he said it was on his intended line, by getting relief he had it moved out the rough and onto npr which was first cut or fairway so he had clear line of sight and then played it over the tv tower, integrity? The rules allowed it, but you could question whether he just wanted a better lie.

But different to the scenario we're discussing.
Had DJ swapped to left hand stance and claimed relief then it would be.....
 
I've answered the points very well. "

You don't understand that a player cannot choose to play a particular shot with the sole purpose of getting a free drop from a bad lie.

Just read the various explanations which rulefan, I and Duncan have given you - in which you will see that we would entirely agree with this statement but would not apply to the particular situation described by the OP. If the player had opened his mouth and foolishly admitted the intention of getting relief through a stroke he would not otherwise have made, that would be different.

But why am I bothering to say this? It's been more than adequately explained already.
 
Just read the various explanations which rulefan, I and Duncan have given you - in which you will see that we would entirely agree with this statement but would not apply to the particular situation described by the OP. If the player had opened his mouth and foolishly admitted the intention of getting relief through a stroke he would not otherwise have made, that would be different.

Even though it's obvious, by only having short irons of one hand in the bag, that his normal shot would be that handed..?
Surely, if he's not playing a normal shot, he's playing an abnormal shot - similar to taking an abnormally wide stance to stand on a path, for instance...
Would I, with my ball in deep rough but playable, be allowed to invert my wedge, take a left handed stance and claim relief from a staked tree or path?
 
Just read the various explanations which rulefan, I and Duncan have given you - in which you will see that we would entirely agree with this statement but would not apply to the particular situation described by the OP. If the player had opened his mouth and foolishly admitted the intention of getting relief through a stroke he would not otherwise have made, that would be different.

But why am I bothering to say this? It's been more than adequately explained already.

Rather arrogant to say "it's been explained".

It hasn't been explained, you have simply put your point of view, which I disagree with.

It is clear as anything that the guy only took a right handed stance in order to get a drop from a staked tree when the ball was in a dodgy lie when it is already established that he would otherwise have played the shot left handed.
 
Top