Changing right to left handed

I played a guy once who had half right handed clubs and half left handed .

He told me he had the unmentionables in his short irons so played 130 yds in left handed.

we did have one discussion about a staked tree where he wanted a drop form 90yds right handed but I said "no as you told me you play from 130 left handed " and the tree did not interfere with his swing this way.

Handicaps don't distinguish by dexterity only scores.


Can you tell us exactly why, having taken relief and dropping elsewhere, there was an advantage over playing the ball in its original position?

When he had taken relief, which hand did he play?
 
Can you tell us exactly why, having taken relief and dropping elsewhere, there was an advantage over playing the ball in its original position?

When he had taken relief, which hand did he play?
See post 31 this explains exactly what he did and why I thought he was taking the P.
 
See post 31 this explains exactly what he did and why I thought he was taking the P.

Was the tree to the right or left of the fairway?
Was the ball to the left or the right of the tree?
Was his stance impeded?
Was his swing impeded?

Had he got a clear line to the green from either or both sides of the tree?

If the tree hadn't been there which club would he have used and which hand?
 
Last edited:
Was the tree to the right or left of the fairway?
Was the ball to the left or the right of the tree?
Was his stance impeded?
Was his swing impeded?

If the tree hadn't been there which club would he have used and which hand?

Holy smoke.
We already know that if the tree wasn't there he would have played left handed, it was a 90 yard shot and he had already said that he carries left handed clubs because he plays EVERY shot under about 130 yards left handed.

Irrelevant of which side of the fairway he was situated, obviously the ball was on the right side of the tree as you look towards the green, hence it was impeding a right handed shot.
 
Was the tree to the right or left of the fairway?
Was the ball to the left or the right of the tree?
Was his stance impeded?
Was his swing impeded?

Had he got a clear line to the green from either or both sides of the tree?

If the tree hadn't been there which club would he have used and which hand?
He hit his ball right of the fairway
he was right of the tree
claimed drop right handed
dropped left of tree did not like it as could not play lefty without hitting tree.
claimed drop left handed
dropped right of tree
much better lie so played left handed SW
only impediment was the tree quite open ground.
so no tree I would assume he would just have hit sand wedge.
 
Irrelevant of which side of the fairway he was situated, obviously the ball was on the right side of the tree as you look towards the green, hence it was impeding a right handed shot.


Not so obvious. Was it his stance or his swing that was impeded?
 
In both cases, as far as I can recall, the players seems to be refused drops because of their previous admissions or playing knowledge by their playing partners. Had these cases happened without their pp's being aware of, in Three's case the long hitting ability of his pp, and in the 2nd case the distance that his pp chooses to hit either right or left hand clubs, if both incidents happened on the first hole, without this knowledge, would the players have been refused a drop
 
He hit his ball right of the fairway
he was right of the tree
claimed drop right handed
Stance or swing?

dropped left of tree did not like it as could not play lefty without hitting tree.[stance or swing
claimed drop left handed

lhrh.jpg

Does this represent the situation?
I'll do this a step at a time
Could he have moved to the right in the first instance?
 
He hit his ball right of the fairway
he was right of the tree

Stance or swing?


claimed drop left handed

View attachment 21803

Does this represent the situation?
I'll do this a step at a time
Could he have moved to the right in the first instance?
picture is accurate for original shot.

interference with club path as ball was close to tree right handed no interference left handed.

Drop to the right No as the nearest point of relief for right handed swing was other side of the tree.

he then dropped left of the tree in mirror image of picture.

Then claimed drop left handed as tree was impeding his stance and follow through.

dropped right of the tree again,he then had a better lie and played SW left handed

i think he had no intention of playing right handed but just used this ruse to get a drop at original spot in the hope his lie would be better than his original one.
 
picture is accurate for original shot.

interference with club path as ball was close to tree right handed no interference left handed.

Drop to the right No as the nearest point of relief for right handed swing was other side of the tree.

he then dropped left of the tree in mirror image of picture.

Then claimed drop left handed as tree was impeding his stance and follow through.

dropped right of the tree again,he then had a better lie and played SW left handed

i think he had no intention of playing right handed but just used this ruse to get a drop at original spot in the hope his lie would be better than his original one.

Have I got this right? He dropped twice - once to the left of the tree and then, because of interference by the tree, to the right of the tree? If that's the case, under what rule did he make the first drop to the left of the tree? Or was the first drop to the right of the tree, that being left in a mirror image?

Time for a lie down, I think. :confused:
 
picture is accurate for original shot.

interference with club path as ball was close to tree right handed no interference left handed.

Drop to the right No as the nearest point of relief for right handed swing was other side of the tree.

Why wasn't it to the right. Was it a very narrow tree?

I can't quite picture this. He takes a stance with his back to the tree?
But his back swing or follow through would hit the tree? Is that the grounds for relief?
If he stepped forward (ie to the right of the tree), how far away would he have to 'move' the ball to have no interference?
How far to the other (left side of the tree) from the ball to have no interference?

I'm puzzled how he determined the npr.
 
Have I got this right? He dropped twice - once to the left of the tree and then, because of interference by the tree, to the right of the tree? If that's the case, under what rule did he make the first drop to the left of the tree? Or was the first drop to the right of the tree, that being left in a mirror image?

Time for a lie down, I think. :confused:
think I have explained it as good as I can.

original lie could have played it left handed but chose not to so pulls right handed club claims interference from tree.

first drop was for interference right handed dropped left of tree =could have played it right handed but chose not to pulls left handed club claims interference from tree.

second drop for interference left handed dropped right of tree close to original spot but gained a better lie.

he could have played both shots as no interference if correct club was chosen but chose opposite hand to get free drop from staked tree.

Second drop was better lie so played it left handed.

Therein lies the problem because he had a choice of left or right handed clubs he could have dropped all day until he got a good lie

in my honest opinion this is what he was doing.
 
Why wasn't it to the right. Was it a very narrow tree?

I can't quite picture this. He takes a stance with his back to the tree?
But his back swing or follow through would hit the tree? Is that the grounds for relief?
If he stepped forward (ie to the right of the tree), how far away would he have to 'move' the ball to have no interference?
How far to the other (left side of the tree) from the ball to have no interference?

I'm puzzled how he determined the npr.
Yes new sapling he was standing left of the tree but club head right of tree

The original lie was about 12" right of the tree no problem for left handed player.

The nearest point of relief for a right handed player as this is what he claimed was just the other side of the tree.

nearest point is say 12" left of tree=24" he would have needed at least 36/40" to get full relief right handed moving the other way that is why left of the tree was nearest point.
 
Sorry, but I'm really struggling with this. Why was the npr seemingly on the left? Why not on the right?

Or did the 1cl extend from the right, back past the tree and to the left?


View attachment 21815
because npr was just left of tree

he he claimed relief right handed so to get enough room to swing the club right handed and not hit the tree was farther away than the spot just the other side of the tree which right handed had no interference as tree was in front of the ball.

in the diagram you have shown put the original ball closer to the tree but leave the others where they are this will show nearest point is just other side of tree
 
Sorry, but I'm really struggling with this. Why was the npr seemingly on the left? Why not on the right?

Or did the 1cl extend from the right, back past the tree and to the left?


View attachment 21815
the 1CL only comes into play when you have determined the npr not from the original lie as you have shown above

i thought post 114 would explain this as 24" is nearer than 36/40" to gain relief
 
Last edited:
Top