Causing the ball to move on the putting green

How did he do that?

theres a video.

But to make it easy, his ball at rest for a while on the green, no wind. As he placed his putter behind it ,it moved. Seems pretty clesr cut to me and the the RO too.
 
What did he do wrong that made the ball move that deserved a penalty?

http://www.pgatour.com/news/2016/09/23/justin-thomas-one-stroke-penalty.html

Snip

“The ball was at rest on the putting surface,” explained Mark Russell, PGA TOUR Vice-President of Rules & Competition. “There were light winds today. It had been at rest for quite some time and the moment that Justin put his club behind the ball and addressed the ball, the ball moved."

“In that situation, the evidence is against the player and he was penalized.”
 
What happens if it rolls into the hole as you walk onto the green

There has to be a cut off point when it's replaced or not and I suggest it's when you address the ball
Well using guest100718s logic, the ball was at rest for quite some time so by walking on the green it's clear that this action caused the ball to move, so replace it under penalty!

Once the all is marked and lifted, it has to be played from that spot. If it moves whilst walking up, so be it, play it from where it finishes
 
Well using guest100718s logic, the ball was at rest for quite some time so by walking on the green it's clear that this action caused the ball to move, so replace it under penalty!

Once the all is marked and lifted, it has to be played from that spot. If it moves whilst walking up, so be it, play it from where it finishes

I am with you, and madadey, on "once marked on the green, if a ball moves after being placed it is always replaced to that spot".
If it hasn't been marked and you didn't cause it to move then you play from its new position.
If the player causes it to move it's a penalty stroke
If the player didn't then it isn't (basically as the rules are currently in this regard.)
 
I am with you, and madadey, on "once marked on the green, if a ball moves after being placed it is always replaced to that spot".

If the mark has been removed and the player turns away to check something with his caddie, how can he be sure where it should be replaced?
 
Are those who are saying the ball moving on the green is somehow more unfair than a playing addressing his ball in the rough and causing it to move a few mm's? I mean he's gained no advantage right?
 
Did it move ?
Did the player cause the movement ?
How far ?
Forwards or backwards ?
Is that significant ?
Who decides ?
 
If the mark has been removed and the player turns away to check something with his caddie, how can he be sure where it should be replaced?

By using the provisions of 20-3 c as currently for those situations where this happens (including balls caused to move by the player!)
 
Whenever this issue comes up I have wonder who decided that a player on a par 3 can hit the ball on the green, walk to the ball mark, lift and clean it, then replace it and remove his marker, do Aimpoint (optional) stand behind the ball and then see a gust of wind blow it in the hole for an ACE - surely it should always be replaced if the player doesn't cause it to move!
 
It makes no sense to me that a penalty can be incurred by doing something that's necessary to make a stroke.

I agree with those that have said once the ball has been marked and replaced on the green, if it moves put it back. If the player or his equipment touched the ball it's a penalty, if not it isn't.

As the rule stands I think they correctly applied it, but that's as far as my agreement with the rules supporters goes.
 
This si the most craziest of rules. A ball moves 1/8" and a player gets a 1 stroke penalty. How has he gained any advantage and IMO as long as he has not taken a stroke at the ball he should just replace it and carry on with no penalty. At the end of the day it's not like he is in the rough and by making the ball move then replacing it he may gain an advantage by his lie improving.


What if the ball moved 2 feet? Would you write the rule with a graduated scale in it? The rules are intended to offset a potential advantage not actual one and must be written to cover all cases.
 
IMO it doesn't matter how far it moves

You are right it does not matter how far it moves...if the player caused it to move even a centimeter. Having the rule as you would like defeats the prime directive of the game, advance the ball only with strokes, expressed in rule 1-1 :"The Game of Golf consists of playing a ball with a club from the teeing ground into the hole by a stroke or successive strokes in accordance with the rules."

Having an actual advantage rule would mean mini-trials and a neutral arbitrator in every case to decide if an advantage was gained....not practical.
 
I think it's wrong to penalise someone who has done nothing wrong.


The rules are not a penal code, they are intended to keep the playing field as level as possible so all player will be on equal footing but for their skill. They do not punish wrong doing, they offset potential advantages gained in certain circumstances. The potential advantage would be there whether the act was intentional or not. How would you tell the difference anyway? Almost all penalties in golf are incurred for inadvertent actions. The rules do not care if it was intentional only if a potential advantage was gained.
 
The problem with the scenario in the OP is that the player is going to get a penalty regardless of what he does.
If the act of addressing the ball causes it to move, how are you meant to make a stroke at it..?
Standing a metre away leaning over and waftting the club to move the ball closer to hole is the only action that isn't going to cause the ball to move.
Why should a player have to do that when the ball is on the green, the most prepared part of the course..?
Hardly levelling the field when another ball a metre away doesn't move even if you jump up and down around it....
 
Top