SwingsitlikeHogan
Major Champion
Bunker is flooded but not completely and not GUR. I can take free relief if my ball or stance are in the water, but for the relief I must drop my ball in the bunker…not nearer the hole. Tick. If I can do that but cannot take a stance in the bunker to address the ball - does that matter? I don’t think so…just tough if my stance has to be out of the bunker to play my ball dropped taking free relief that is in the bunker…as in normal play.
But what happens if the surrounds to the bunker are saturated - does that matter. Is it a different relief event if I take free relief from water in a bunker that means my stance is out of the bunker but on saturated ground, I could then take relief for my stance and hence move my ball (and myself) out of the bunker to a point that the ground is not saturated - or is the saturated ground part of the original relief event - I have to find a point to drop my ball in the bunker where my stance is not in the saturated ground outside of the bunker.
Don’t think I’ve really explained that very well but think my drift is clear. But I don’t know the ruling on what to do…saturated ground around flooded bunker.
But what happens if the surrounds to the bunker are saturated - does that matter. Is it a different relief event if I take free relief from water in a bunker that means my stance is out of the bunker but on saturated ground, I could then take relief for my stance and hence move my ball (and myself) out of the bunker to a point that the ground is not saturated - or is the saturated ground part of the original relief event - I have to find a point to drop my ball in the bunker where my stance is not in the saturated ground outside of the bunker.
Don’t think I’ve really explained that very well but think my drift is clear. But I don’t know the ruling on what to do…saturated ground around flooded bunker.