becoming pro

aaronjunited

Hacker
Visit site
Im new to the forum, look forward to chatting with you all.

I want to hear everyones views on becoming pro and playing on the european tour or the pga tour.
I know you have to play of scratch and go to Q school and get your tour card.
What i want to know is, do you have to be in your teens, and be young to become a pro, or is there pros out there that have done it at an older age, say from 23 - 35 years old?

Would be nice to hear peoples views.

freddielong

Tour Winner
www.garbtherapy.com
Hi Welcome along

To be honest scratch isn't good enough I know quite a few lower than that who do not have a hope of being a tour pro I would say if you are 16 and playing of +4 you have a chance

If you want to be a club pro not a problem

aaronjunited

Hacker
Visit site
I aggree being 16 helps, and better than scratch also. But not all the tour pros are that much better than scratch, its like everyone, you'l have a good day and a bad day. Practice makes perfect. Is there any pros who became pro over the age of 24?

freddielong

Tour Winner
www.garbtherapy.com
I aggree being 16 helps, and better than scratch also. But not all the tour pros are that much better than scratch, its like everyone, you'l have a good day and a bad day. Practice makes perfect. Is there any pros who became pro over the age of 24?

Seriously there isn't a tour pro that makes a living, that would not eat a sratch handicap golfer for breakfast honestly the courses they play the setups they play on a scratch golfer would not get near them consistently

I know its Tiger but I remember reading an article on Tiger where they tried to work out his handicap over a season using the us slope system and it came out at +14

There are a few that started late Larry Nelson didn't pick a club up until he came back from vietnam he won a few majors but golf has moved on a lot since then

TobyRich1928

Head Pro
Visit site