Ball taken by dog

Rule 18-1

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.
Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1.

Providing it is known or virtually certain that a dog, or other outside agency, took a ball, the player may replace another ball if the original ball cannot be easily retrieved, or has been rendered unfit for play (e.g. by teeth marks).
 
Rule 18-1

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.
Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1.

Providing it is known or virtually certain that a dog, or other outside agency, took a ball, the player may replace another ball if the original ball cannot be easily retrieved, or has been rendered unfit for play (e.g. by teeth marks).

Only wrinkle on above is if the dog takes the ball when it is still moving you drop the ball (or substitute if necessary)at the point the dog took it.
 
Thanks chaps, thought that was right. Reason I ask is in todays medal one of our fourball (who is a bit of an arse) hit a cack shot off to the right of the hole. No ssoner had it stopped than a dog being walked (on a lead!) picked the ball up and walked off with it. PP then proceeded to hit another shot from his original position, saying the first shot no longer counted, and surprise surprise put this one in the middle of the fairway.:rolleyes:
 
Ah well, at least he proceeded within the rules by playing stroke and distance but a pity he would have ended up disqualified for not counting the original shot plus the penalty. :)
 
It should be placed. ​Dec.19-1/6.

Only on a putting green, in respect of a shot made from off the putting green.

Not a lot to suggest this was the case in this situation though; we just don't know.

Through the green or hazard, as Mike says it's dropped.
On the green in respect of a stroke played from off the green it's placed
On the green in respect of a shot made from on the green...the stroke is cancelled.
 
Top