Ball on tee or green

  • Thread starter Thread starter c1973
  • Start date Start date
It's within one club length of the NPR and this local rule is redundant as it's already covered under rule 25-3

And it's only the position of the ball that's important. If the player's stance is on the wrong green, then 25-3 doesn't apply. Likewise after a drop when applying 25-3 - just because the player's stance would encroach onto the wrong green doesn't mean that the drop is not a valid one.
 
Here is the local ruling at my golf club.

Dropping without penalty
d) Green and tees - a ball lying on a green or tee other than the one being played must be lifted and dropped at nearest point of relief not nearer the hole


Thanks , i didnt say it was workable or even allowed but was sure i have seen it over here a few times ,

I THINK Mount Juliet is one , cant be sure ,


at least im not going mad ha (well not about this anyhow)
 
Last edited:
It's within one club length of the NPR and this local rule is redundant as it's already covered under rule 25-3

Thanks, didnt know that, worth knowing as most of us would have just picked nearest point of relief and dropped - which would probably be within 1 clublength anyway but good to know we have a bit more length.
 
Thanks, didnt know that, worth knowing as most of us would have just picked nearest point of relief and dropped - which would probably be within 1 clublength anyway but good to know we have a bit more length.

No relief procedures require you to drop at the npr. There is always an additional 1 clublength.

When you get 2 cl, it is from a specific reference point not the npr.
 
No relief procedures require you to drop at the npr. There is always an additional 1 clublength.

without wishing to confuse, and accepting that it doesn't technically involve npr, the relief for an embedded ball under 25-2 doesn't have an additional 1 cl (just in case anyone puts free relief and 1cl together for this situation by mistake at some point in the future :))
 
With regard to NPR on a green, can the NPR be in a bunker?

I have had this discussion before with a regular PP, I always thought it was nearest point of relief not best point of relief
 
With regard to NPR on a green, can the NPR be in a bunker?

I have had this discussion before with a regular PP, I always thought it was nearest point of relief not best point of relief

for wrong putting green the relief option is as follows (the 'must' making it compulsory)

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule
 
Top