Ball moves after being marked?

I guess the question is at what point a ball is considered marked, is it before or after it is lifted? I would assume it is after.

The distinction you are perhaps looking for is that the ball remains in play after you have put a marker down. It is only out of play when it is lifted.

Decision 20-4/1 deals with the same principle but at the other end of the process - the ball is replaced and moves before the marker is removed. http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-20/#d20-4-1
 
Last edited:
I asked the question because I had never had the ball move after marking it (and before lifting it) before, and because there is no obvious guidance on how to proceed in either rule 18 or rule 20 (at least not in the small rules book). Rule 20 requires you to mark the ball before lifting it, but exactly when does it temporarily cease to be in play? At the moment you mark it, or at the moment you lift it off the surface of the green? The ball was definitely caused to move by a strong gust of wind btw, not the act of marking it.
 
Last edited:
I asked the question because I had never had the ball move after marking it (and before lifting it) before, and because there is no obvious guidance on how to proceed in either rule 18 or rule 20 (at least not in the small rules book). Rule 20 requires you to mark the ball before lifting it, but exactly when does it temporarily cease to be in play? At the moment you mark it, or at the moment you lift it off the surface of the green? The ball was definitely caused to move by a strong gust of wind btw, not the act of marking it.

there you go - why was I stupid enough to bother to answer your question why I just knew you would ignore the answer.

where's the hitting head against wall emoticon??????
 
I asked the question because I had never had the ball move after marking it (and before lifting it) before, and because there is no obvious guidance on how to proceed in either rule 18 or rule 20 (at least not in the small rules book). Rule 20 requires you to mark the ball before lifting it, but exactly when does it temporarily cease to be in play? At the moment you mark it, or at the moment you lift it off the surface of the green? The ball was definitely caused to move by a strong gust of wind btw, not the act of marking it.
there you go - why was I stupid enough to bother to answer your question why I just knew you would ignore the answer.

where's the hitting head against wall emoticon??????

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

I'd say 'Unbelievable!', but it was soooo predictable!
 
I asked the question because I had never had the ball move after marking it (and before lifting it) before, and because there is no obvious guidance on how to proceed in either rule 18 or rule 20 (at least not in the small rules book). Rule 20 requires you to mark the ball before lifting it, but exactly when does it temporarily cease to be in play? At the moment you mark it, or at the moment you lift it off the surface of the green? The ball was definitely caused to move by a strong gust of wind btw, not the act of marking it.

I may not be a rules expert but it seems to me to be quite clear and has been confirmed by Duncan - either you don't understand what he posted so should ask him to clarify or you are ignoring it and continue to ramble on when the clear answer has been posted.

I read the rules threads quite regulary as its very much a learning curve - the experts give the answers and it's clear and concise.

Unless it's a thread you post in - you seem to be able to turn a clear rule into a 5 page bunch of nonsense

You post like you are a rules expert but seem to get them wrong and not know clear rules.

You have had your answer to your query - please read Duncans post
 
I may not be a rules expert but it seems to me to be quite clear and has been confirmed by Duncan - either you don't understand what he posted so should ask him to clarify or you are ignoring it and continue to ramble on when the clear answer has been posted.

I read the rules threads quite regulary as its very much a learning curve - the experts give the answers and it's clear and concise.

Unless it's a thread you post in - you seem to be able to turn a clear rule into a 5 page bunch of nonsense

You post like you are a rules expert but seem to get them wrong and not know clear rules.

You have had your answer to your query - please read Duncans post
Yes, but I have been given two different answers by various 'experts'. All I want to know could be answered in two simple sentences. 1) The correct place to mark the ball. 2) whether or not I have incurred any penalty strokes. Is that too much to ask? :confused:
 
The question has been answered by Duncan

Please read his posts and then be satisfied you have your answer
 
The question has been answered by Duncan

Please read his posts and then be satisfied you have your answer
So in essence, I should have moved the marker to the ball's new position before lifting it, and no penalty strokes would have been incurred. Fortunately this incident occurred in a friendly round, but I wanted to know the ruling if it occurred in a competition.
 
Last edited:
So in essence, I should have moved the marker to the ball's new position and no penalty strokes were incurred. Fortunately this incident occurred in a friendly round, but I wanted to know the ruling if it occurred in a competition.
image.jpg
 
Maybe Del has Duncan on ignore.
Del, the ball is still in play after you mark it. It becomes not in play when you lift it.
Mark it on the new position, no penalty
 
I asked the question because I had never had the ball move after marking it (and before lifting it) before, and because there is no obvious guidance on how to proceed in either rule 18 or rule 20 (at least not in the small rules book). Rule 20 requires you to mark the ball before lifting it, but exactly when does it temporarily cease to be in play? At the moment you mark it, or at the moment you lift it off the surface of the green? The ball was definitely caused to move by a strong gust of wind btw, not the act of marking it.

For goodness sake Del. Apart from the previous posts in the thread what was there in this bit of post #21 that you had difficulty with?

It [the ball] is only out of play when it is lifted.
 
there you go - why was I stupid enough to bother to answer your question why I just knew you would ignore the answer.

where's the hitting head against wall emoticon??????

Allow me to be of assistance............

bash-head.gif
 
So in essence, I should have moved the marker to the ball's new position before lifting it, and no penalty strokes would have been incurred. Fortunately this incident occurred in a friendly round, but I wanted to know the ruling if it occurred in a competition.

Surely there is no difference. The rules are the rules. Whether it's a friendly round, a game with mates with a few quid on the line or the club championship doesn't make any difference to what the ruling is or should be.
 
Surely there is no difference. The rules are the rules. Whether it's a friendly round, a game with mates with a few quid on the line or the club championship doesn't make any difference to what the ruling is or should be.

You know exactly what he means.
 
...... Fortunately this incident occurred in a friendly round, but I wanted to know the ruling if it occurred in a competition.

That's entirely sound. I recollect that one of the factors that encouraged me into a serious study of the rules was finding myself in exactly the same situation - in a bounce game, not being sure how to proceed and realising that it didn't matter too much at that point but that in a competition it would. There was also , to be honest, a considerable degree of damage to the pride through not knowing!
 
That's entirely sound. I recollect that one of the factors that encouraged me into a serious study of the rules was finding myself in exactly the same situation - in a bounce game, not being sure how to proceed and realising that it didn't matter too much at that point but that in a competition it would. There was also , to be honest, a considerable degree of damage to the pride through not knowing!
I actually replaced the ball on the originally marked spot, which was wrong and should have incurred a penalty, but I didn't win anything, so no problem. I was carrying a copy of the small rules book, but that didn't really give any guidance. Maybe looking at the definition of 'ball in play' might have given the answer. I checked with our club rules expert after the round, and he checked the decisions book and couldn't find a direct answer, but he thought (correctly) that the ball was still in play until lifted. About half the people who responded to this thread seemed to think that I acted correctly, so it was not that clear cut!
 
Top