Ball moved accidentally when preferred lies are in place

D-S

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
5,310
Location
Bristol
Visit site
In a match, a player accidentally moves their ball on the apron of the green (not on the green), he/she claims that this does not incur a penalty as preferred lies were in place so they could move the ball anyway; they then proceed to pick up the ball and place it within 6” of the estimated original spot.
I am almost 100% that this is not allowed and the ball should be replaced and they would have a 1 shot penalty. Is this this right and if so, how does one tell definitively when a player is lifting ball (in a circumstance where they don’t have to mark it) and when they have just moved it?
 
I suggest

9.1​

a. Playing Ball from Where It Came to Rest​

A player’s ball at rest on the course must be played as it lies, except when the Rules require or allow the player:
  • To play a ball from another place on the course, or ....
 
It is a penalty (Rule 9.4b) unless the ball was accidentally moved in the process of lifting it. (Rule 9.4b Exception 1)

The player and opponent (and referee/committee) will need to work out whether the accidental movement was part of the lifting process or not. Lifting is not defined but Rule 14.1 guides us that lifting may be done in any way, which includes picking up the ball by hand, rotating it or otherwise deliberately causing it to move from its spot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-S
It is a penalty (Rule 9.4b) unless the ball was accidentally moved in the process of lifting it. (Rule 9.4b Exception 1)

The player and opponent (and referee/committee) will need to work out whether the accidental movement was part of the lifting process or not. Lifting is not defined but Rule 14.1 guides us that lifting may be done in any way, which includes picking up the ball by hand, rotating it or otherwise deliberately causing it to move from its spot.
What about exception 4?
 
What about exception 4?
Which bullet or bullets do you think apply? On the information available in #1, the player wasn't in the process of marking or lifting the ball or taking relief at the time of the accidental movement. The player may well have had an intention to do so in the not too distant future, but the actual movement is not attribtable to any of those actions in Exception 4.
 
Steven has it right, accidental movement of your ball at rest, even if preferred lies is available, is a breach of 9.4b unless the player AT THAT TIME is proceeding under the preferred lies rule. This is where player integrity is tested fully.
The same applies to a ball at rest in any other free relief condition.
 
Top