Ball in bounds - practice swing out of bounds?!

Thread starter #1

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
9,967
Location
Cambs
Our course has a few holes where the oob is "marked" where the reeds/plant matter start and the grass ends (bit vague)!. So today our ball (greensomes) was about 6" in bounds but the backswing was very restricted as the nettles etc were very overgrown behind the ball. So I know I can't touch the area behind the ball in my practice swing as I'd be improving my lie but can I take a practice swing 10' away to get a feel for how the nettles etc will snag my club? Said backswing in practice would cross the oob line...

Opponents said no and it would be like taking a practice swing in a bunker somewhere away from your ball. Not sure I agree as the bunker is a hazard and oob a boundary of the course? So if the oob line didn't have nettles etc obstructing it I'd have to stop the practice swing short of the thin air boundary?!

Thanks.
 

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
2,062
Location
cheshire
I am pretty sure you can play a ball whilst standing out of bounds if the ball is in bounds. its the ball that counts not you.
 
Thread starter #4

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
9,967
Location
Cambs
They are talking poop :)
I thought so too. Have checked another rule he quoted about when a ball is in the hole with flag still in (chipped in) that if you lift the flag out and the ball comes out it's back in play.

It's always the ones who are adamant about rules who seem to know the least about them.

To be fair though the points were put nicely and I didn't know for sure whether both were right...or not!
 

bobmac

Major Champion
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
25,844
Location
Lincolnshire
I always say carry a rule book with you. If someone gives you a ruling that you don't agree with, GIVE THEM THE RULE BOOK and ask them to show you the rule
 
Thread starter #6

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
9,967
Location
Cambs
I always say carry a rule book with you. If someone gives you a ruling that you don't agree with, GIVE THEM THE RULE BOOK and ask them to show you the rule
Ahh good point. I do carry one and knew I wouldn't be able to quickly locate where the hell such rules were but if they aint there they aint a rule. Thanks Bob.
 

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
2,062
Location
cheshire
I am pretty sure you can play a ball whilst standing out of bounds if the ball is in bounds. its the ball that counts not you.
 
Thread starter #9

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
9,967
Location
Cambs
I've heard the same about the flagstick and ball. I've alway thought that once the ball has rested at the bottom of the hole the hole was finished
The rule is that if the ball is at rest and the whole ball below the top of the hole then it's holed out and finished. If it's resting against the flagstick you can move it so the ball falls below the top of the hole (hopefully)!
 

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
33,324
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Both these only need a modicum of common sense don't they?

It's frustrating that "experienced" golfers often don't don't know their arse from their elbow......

I like Bob's idea - you think there's a rule - Show me!
 

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
11,135
...So I know I can't touch the area behind the ball in my practice swing as I'd be improving my lie but can I take a practice swing 10' away to get a feel for how the nettles etc will snag my club? Said backswing in practice would cross the oob line...
Bob's given you the technical answer :) but just to highlight that touching the area behind the ball is not improving your lie.

As long as you are not breaking 13-2, 13-4 or 1-2 you are generally able to 'swish away'.
 

Doon frae Troon

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Mar 5, 2012
Messages
18,000
Location
S W Scotland
I always say carry a rule book with you. If someone gives you a ruling that you don't agree with, GIVE THEM THE RULE BOOK and ask them to show you the rule
Wise words Bob.

I used to run a very succesful junior development programme.
Our system was based on four levels of improvement certificates.
One of the standards on the 4th level was that we would give the junior a 'situation' [eg as above]. hand them a rule book and ask then to find the answer in the rule book. It sometimes took single figure players 2 to 3 attempts to gain that certificate.
 

Foxholer

Blackballed
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
24,168
I always say carry a rule book with you. If someone gives you a ruling that you don't agree with, GIVE THEM THE RULE BOOK and ask them to show you the rule
Unfortunately, while I agree with the sentiment, finding a rule in The Rules is actually not that easy. The standard come-back that an opponent (or I even) would use would be to say 'It's one of the decisions, so won't be in there!'.

And I agree with Bob's original reply - they were talking 'poop'!
 

bobmac

Major Champion
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
25,844
Location
Lincolnshire
The standard come-back that an opponent (or I even) would use would be to say 'It's one of the decisions, so won't be in there!'.
I would think the standard come-back from 99.9% of the people asked would be "that's what someone told me in the bar". Most of them wouldn't have even heard of the decisions book if they think that swinging out of bounds is against the rules..
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,841
Location
Edinburgh
One of our ladies forgot that she had marked her ball a putter head away and putted from where the marker was, then realised her error and picked up her ball and replaced it. She was somewhat disbelieving when told afterwards that this had cost her 4 penalty strokes. See Decision 20-7c/2 she was told. Her classic reply was, "Ah well, that's just the Decisions, it's not the Rules." :mmm:
 

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
10,261
Location
Cambridge
I always say carry a rule book with you. If someone gives you a ruling that you don't agree with, GIVE THEM THE RULE BOOK and ask them to show you the rule
In our group at Thetford three of the four could pull out a rule book. OK Bobs might have been a mental one as I do not remember seeing it.
 
Thread starter #20

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
9,967
Location
Cambs
What? You mean you can't step OOB to answer the call of the Paula Radcliffe?
Weirdly enough at the time it seemed to possibly make sense especially when he quoted the "like practicing in a bunker away from your ball". When I typed the post here I thought how ridiculous it actually was as quite often the oob "line" is fresh air.

Good job you can do a Paula (assuming she just peed!!) over the oob as that's my top spot :mmm:
 
Top