Armlock Putter Conversion

Britishshooting

Club Champion
Visit site
So I have a few putters lay around and thought i'd turn one into a little project.

The plan is to turn one of my Scotty Cameron Studio Design 1's into an Armlock putter. (One of my favourite heads)

A few pictures of the Studio Design 1 in it's current state, this will be getting high polish black oxide refinish as pictured. This will be refurbished by Chris Finch, as is the one in the picture.

Not sure on paint infill colour yet, don't care for it to be in original condition as I have another that ticks that box, this is just a fun project.

So to convert this to an Armlock I'm thinking of the following process, please do chirp in if i'm overlooking anything or could improve anywhere as i'm new to this really.

First of all i'll be crudely tweaking the putter this will involve extending the existing shaft from 35 inch to 40-42, i'll add lead shot into the shaft to determine the additional head weight. The head weighs 330g however I'll probably be looking to get this to around 400g but this will be determined based on sacrificial grip weighted to suit the Armlock grip I have purchased. This gives me a very crude mock up of what i'll be left with, from here will determine any loft and lie changes required and tweak accordingly circa 7 to 8 degree of loft (more than my driver)

Then on to the final build:

- Head bent to correct L&L removed and refurbished
- New 38 inch uncut .382 flare tip shaft fitted to finished head
- Tungsten Powder added to shaft, compacted and corked. (Circa 400g head weight, TBC)
- Shaft Extended to 40-42 inch
- 130g JMX JumboFlat Fitted 17 inch long grip (Black and Silver) (Pre-Ordered for delivery in 1.5 weeks)