Another Putt Concession Question

Iaing

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
2,580
Location
Ayrshire, Scotland
Visit site
In a matchplay situation you putt from say 20 feet and the ball finishes right on the lip of the hole.
Your opponent immediately concedes the putt, but then the ball falls into the hole.
Should he have waited for a certain time, or is it tough on my part?
 
you are allowed a 'reasonable' time for the putt to drop, I believe its the time taken to walk to the hole and 10 seconds, if it falls in you are deemed to have holed out with that putt. Your opponent either knows this rule and was trying to pull a fast one or it was in jest.
your opponent cannot 'give' you that additional stroke as the stroke isnt technically over until you reach the ball and add the 10 secs, after that time and the ball is still there then you have no options except take the 'gimme' and extra stroke or putt out- if its your turn-
 
you are allowed a 'reasonable' time for the putt to drop, I believe its the time taken to walk to the hole and 10 seconds, if it falls in you are deemed to have holed out with that putt. Your opponent either knows this rule and was trying to pull a fast one or it was in jest.
your opponent cannot 'give' you that additional stroke as the stroke isnt technically over until you reach the ball and add the 10 secs, after that time and the ball is still there then you have no options except take the 'gimme' and extra stroke or putt out- if its your turn-

EDIT: Just read the other thread :o

I agree with the above
 
Last edited:
There is a much simpler route to the same answer than that. You can only concede a putt when the ball is at rest (see Rule 2-4) and this ball was evidently still moving as it toppled into the hole. The "concession" wasn't valid.
 
Last edited:
just read on other related thread that (according to duncanmackie) you can't turn down a concession. So if I am 2ft from hole with a putt for a par and my partner has a 10 footer on the same line I can't choose to decline a concession offered to give my partner the line? Or would I just accept the concession and take the putt anyway (though I can't really see me doing that)
 
just read on other related thread that (according to duncanmackie) you can't turn down a concession. So if I am 2ft from hole with a putt for a par and my partner has a 10 footer on the same line I can't choose to decline a concession offered to give my partner the line? Or would I just accept the concession and take the putt anyway (though I can't really see me doing that)

you are in the same situation if you are putting for a 12 from just inside your partners ball, and he's there for 3...if the putt is conceded, and you go ahead and make the putt anyway for the purpose of assisting your partner, your partner will be disqualified from the hole. dec 2-4/6. one of the useful (and easy) decisions to memorise!

possibly also relevant is that a ball may be removed by either side following a concession.
 
just read on other related thread that (according to duncanmackie) you can't turn down a concession. So if I am 2ft from hole with a putt for a par and my partner has a 10 footer on the same line I can't choose to decline a concession offered to give my partner the line? Or would I just accept the concession and take the putt anyway (though I can't really see me doing that)


I was playing a 4bbb final and my partner and I were both on the green with a similar putt. I asked him to go first to show me the line and our opponents said that my partner couldn't putt as he had already scored more than they were down for. We had a referee walking with us and he confirmed that he could play as they never conceded his putt as they only argued that he shouldn't putt and never offered a concession.
 
I was playing a 4bbb final and my partner and I were both on the green with a similar putt. I asked him to go first to show me the line and our opponents said that my partner couldn't putt as he had already scored more than they were down for. We had a referee walking with us and he confirmed that he could play as they never conceded his putt as they only argued that he shouldn't putt and never offered a concession.

At which point they should have conceded his putt!
 
According to the referee, at any time instead of arguing that he had no right to take the putt. If they had known the rules they would have conceded and got what they wanted.
could he not have said "thanks" then still putted as a practice ( not assuming slowing up play) thus giving you a line?
 
Top