Animal Scrapping / burrows

Definition of "burrowing animal" from the R&A... (my bold)

A "burrowing animal" is an animal (other than a worm, insect or the like) that makes a hole for habitation or shelter, such as a rabbit, mole, groundhog, gopher or salamander.

:whoo: That's my first really appalling howler of 2014. I hide in shame, and apologise humbly.

And another 0.1 on my handicap today.

Maybe tomorrow will be better. :)
 
:whoo: That's my first really appalling howler of 2014. I hide in shame, and apologise humbly.

And another 0.1 on my handicap today.

Maybe tomorrow will be better. :)

Shame, I was hoping it was me that was mistaken.

I was looking forward to claiming free relief from a wormcast in the rough ;)
 
Definition of "burrowing animal" from the R&A... (my bold)

A "burrowing animal" is an animal (other than a worm, insect or the like) that makes a hole for habitation or shelter, such as a rabbit, mole, groundhog, gopher or salamander.

Ta for pointing out the definition of burrowing animal - I should have looked harder in first place.


Apologies if I confused. My LI post (#23) should probably have had an '(also)' before the word 'defined'.

You certainly can treat the cast as an LI and simply move it. But should the ball move, you would be penalised, so probably safer to 'take relief' as you are (also) allowed to do - and you can clean the ball when you do.

I seriously doubt whether worm casts would ever actually 'interfere' with your stance though!:rolleyes:

But in light of the definition of burrowing animal, I'm now wondering what the "take relief as you are (also) allowed to do" that you're referring to? (FWIW, I appreciate the issue of ball moving/penalty under loose impediment rules). From definition above, a worm is not a burrowing animal - so a wormcast is not a cast made by burrowing animal - and therefore a wormcast not an abnormal ground condition. So presumably it is only a loose impediment? So, which rule allows the "take relief" mentioned?

(Ps: You'd be surprised at what can interfere with my stance. :)

I am actually phobic about worms. If stood on a wormcast I'm worried there's a worm right underneath there. Seriously. In greenkeepers week, I'm a wreck when they treat the greens with the stuff that fetches the blighters up. I've had to be "rescued" after being surrounded by the brutes. If there's any way I can treat worm holes and casts as AGC, believe me I'm on it like a shot...)
 
But in light of the definition of burrowing animal, I'm now wondering what the "take relief as you are (also) allowed to do" that you're referring to?

He was probably referring to the relief I was offering in post #29 which was utter garbage and should be expunged from your mind at once. Indeed if a kindly moderator expunged that post and all references to it from the forum he would be doing a great service and be worthy of reward. :cheers:
 
Is beer an obstruction (it is manufactured) or a loose impediment (it is a combination of natural materials not fixed or growing) or casual water (it is 99% H2O)? :cheers:
 
Top