Advice on buying new clubs

amateurhour

Visit site
First of all I guess its a hi from me, this is my first post, signed up the other week after spectating on here for a couple of months.

I started playing this great game only last summer, it was something I'd been meaning to do for a while and, as I wasn't sure if I would get on with it to start off with a bought a cheap complete set off ebay for around £70.

As it was I had a great time, and played around 15 rounds over the last summer plus copius trips to the range. My aim was to beat 100 and I managed to do this a couple of times towards the back end of the summer.

Whilst I say above I love playing I am very much a fair weather player and as such the clubs have been locked up since the end of October. I plan on hitting the courses again next month but I am looking to invest in some new equipment ready for the new year now I know I wish to play more long term. I have a budget of around £400, but this needs to get me a complete new sets of irons, driver, hybrid and putter.

Having read through a few threads on here regarding custom made clubs I'm not sure these are going to be suitable, I can't see my game improving sufficiently for them to make too much of a difference and I am of average build/height.

I guess with the above my questions would be getting advice on the sort of cost split that would be preferable between the clubs, whether best to purchase new or 2nd hand and what sort of things I should be looking for when looking.

We have a direct golf not too far away so planned on going there to test some clubs out in the first instance.

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I'd definitely go 2nd hand for the irons. I keep reading that you can get Callaway X series reasonably cheaply, or any Ping G series would also be a good buy.