Advice:Is there a large difference?

Garesfield ACE

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Between 1 degree of loft (9-10 degrees ) in drivers?

Since I started using a driver around 7 months ago I have gone from a 13 degrees HT Calloway BB down to 10 degrees.( I have an 11 degree driver as my 2nd driver but I am getting it too high at times costing me distance ).

The 10 degree one is going very well.As I need 2 drivers I now want to look at coming down to a 9 degree one.So is there a major difference saying as my 10 degree one is doing fine?

Cheers

Kev

sawtooth

Tour Winner
Visit site
Just a thought but have you tried hitting some stiffer shafted drivers? the wrong flex for your swing can also cause you to hit it too high.

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site
1 degree of loft wil not make much difference, but differences in head design (if different brands), shaft make and flex could easily make a bigger than 1 degree launch difference. Also, not all clubs are accurately labelled. You could find the true difference isn loft is 2 or 3 degrees..

kev_off_the_tee

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have a Ben Sayers 10.5 degree with a stiff shaft if you fancy giving that a go next time round.

Decent enough club and will give you an idea on whether a stiff shaft would suit before committing to buying a new one

Garesfield ACE

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Just a thought but have you tried hitting some stiffer shafted drivers? the wrong flex for your swing can also cause you to hit it too high.

No I havent.I have a regular 10 degree and light 11 degree.I have never tried STIFF shafted yet.Both my clubs are Calloway BB,I am looking at getting maybe Ping G2/G5 used 9/9.5 degrees

Garesfield ACE

Tour Rookie
Visit site
why do you need to come down to a 9 degree head