A sound not often heard at the golf club these days.

Robster59

Tour Rookie
www.eastrengolfclub.co.uk
The "click-clack" of metal spikes on the car park. Mine. I have a pair of shoes with metal spikes that I use when the course is icy and I had them on yesterday. As I was walking back to the clubhouse after putting my club in the car, I was suddenly aware that a sound I used to hear a lot when I started playing golf is one that is almost never heard these days.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I also have a pair for icy conditions. Amazing how loud they sound walking through the car par. I assume this is because we aren't use to the sound anymore. And yes, I have checked with the club and we are allowed to use them

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Some pro a while a back told a story that when they heard that noise they knew Tiger was arriving, because he was the only pro who still wore metal spikes. Not sure if that's still the case now though. I don't think I've owned a pair with metal spikes since my very first pair of golf shoes when I was 14/15.

Voyager EMH

Slipper Wearing Plucker of Pheasants
Visit site
I've got some white Stylo Matchmakers. Hardly used and in my size. They were in a bag of 1980s clubs I bought in 2021.
Not used them for play yet. I shall ask our head greenkeeper for permission later this year.

The walk from the 9th green to the 10th tee goes right along the paved area in front of the clubhouse and the back of the 18th green. Superb place to treat everyone to that old sound.

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
Ive a pair of FJ black and white wingtips with metal spikes in for when i play Hickory in full rig out.

i did used to use another pair with metal spikes a couple of years ago, but fount the metal spikes froze up all the time and collected ice. a fried suggested just wearing spike less when its icy and have done ever since. far easier and safer just in frozen conditions

Robster59

Tour Rookie

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro