chrisd
Major Champion
All this incurred by a 2 h/c . You'd think low handicappers would know some of the rules!
All this incurred by a 2 h/c . You'd think low handicappers would know some of the rules!
It wasn't a wrong ball. It was a substituted ball played from a wrong place
I think rules knowledge is inversely proportional to golf skill. The better you play, the less you know. If you spend all your time getting to a 2 HC there is no study time and no feeling that you need it because your skills are all you need to be an expert golfer.All this incurred by a 2 h/c . You'd think low handicappers would know some of the rules!
I don't think ;playing a provisional leads to that conclusion. The validity of a provisional depends on the player's state of mind at the time he announces it.The fact that a Provisional Ball was hit means that you are not certain that the ball is in the water hazard -
Really? He played a ball he found out on the course - he thought it was one of his provisionals which he could play whereas it was in fact a lost ball. It was just "a ball". I think that matches the definition of wrong ball rather than substituted ball?
It wasn't a wrong ball. It was a substituted ball played from a wrong place. Almost certainly with a serious breach and subsequent DQ for not correcting it.
Really? He played a ball he found out on the course - he thought it was one of his provisionals which he could play whereas it was in fact a lost ball. It was just "a ball". I think that matches the definition of wrong ball rather than substituted ball?
A wrong ball is a another ball played when you have a ball in play, a ball provisionally in play or a second ball in play under the Rules. In this instance, the player did not have a ball in play.
A substituted ball is one put into play for a ball in play, lost, out of bounds or lifted. In this instance, the player put a ball into play for a lost ball.
The Definition of a wrong ball includes the original ball when it is no longer in play. In D 27/8, it is the original ball, now "lost', that is played. In the OP's question, it was one of the provisional balls that was found and played.
It wasn't a wrong ball. It was a substituted ball played from a wrong place. Almost certainly with a serious breach and subsequent DQ for not correcting it.
The potential for redness of face is considerable.
.
Told you.
It was clearly a mistake to take it that Rulefan was correct and to try to find ways of explaining how.![]()
As an aside to the OP, but leading from a couple of responses, the definition a wrong ball is
"A “wrong ball’’ is any ball other than the player’s:
ball in play;
provisional ball; or
second ball played under Rule 3-3 or Rule 20-7c in stroke play;
and includes:
another player’s ball;
an abandoned ball; and
the player’s original ball when it is no longer in play.
I'd have thought that the bits highlighted red were fully covered by the foregoing section of the definition. So I wonder why it's thought necessary to include them? Anyone got knowledge or suggestions as to reasons why they are there?
No, but the rules are generally precisely written and don't usually say more than necessary. This bit just seems rather more "helpful" than normal - and I was wondering if there was any specific reason why that might be?Clarification!
Not essential, but helpful.
Would you prefer The Rules to be 'unhelpful'?