A Bunker head scratcher??!!??

alldownhill

Medal Winner
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
34
Location
Worksop
Visit site
Hello all,

Could someone please suggest what I should have done out on the course yesterday. On a 160 yard par 3 I put my ball in a greenside bunker from the tee. Then my playing partner did the exact same and his ball landed about 4 inches behind mine.

Both balls were lightly plugged. He played first as he was furthest away. He slashed his ball out (he plays off 4!) and completely covered my ball in sand. I knew where my ball was but it made my shot twice as hard!

What is the ruling on this? Could I have wiped the sand off my ball without incurring a penalty?

As luck would have it we were not playing in a comp so the rules stakes were not too high as it was just a friendly knock.
 
Some of the proper guru's will be along to sort it out for definate for you ,as you already know it was your ball i dont think clearing the sand to identify the ball would cover you on this ,
BUT
as far as i know you are entitled to the lie your shot gave you , there fore you could have brushed the sand off the ball without penalty .. if you did move the ball you would have to replace it , again i think this would be without penalty

The only doubt i have is if this ruling covers being in a hazzard or not .. just hang tight & you will get the correct answer when the guys see this
 
Your better choice with the two balls close together in the bunker (or anywhere else for that matter) would be to mark and lift the one nearer the hole (under Rule 22-2). The lifted ball must not be cleaned. After the other ball is played, the player nearer the hole is entitled to the lie he had and can recreate it before replacing his ball (Rule 20-3b)


In your circumstance where both balls are left in place, if the lie of the second ball to be played is altered by the stroke at the first ball, the player is entitled to the lie he had and can in equity (Rule 1-4) mark, lift and clean his ball and restore the original lie.
 
agree with Colin, but would add a few pointers -

1. when marking the ball in such situations it's often appropriate to use 4 tee pegs some distance apart in a cross, with the ball in the centre - this way the marker doesn't end up on the green with the other players ball and sand!
2. don't be afraid to undertake 'major reconstruction' - the idea is to get everything back where it was before the first shot was played and this may involve raking before replacing the ball
3. as Colin points out, care when picking up and it's normal to place the ball to one side on the ground to avoid any possible issues around cleaning - putting in a pocket not wise!
4. the player playing the first stroke is the one to request the other ball be lifted - you do not get 'a choice'
5. in a match it is sensible to get the other ball moved because you will be penalised if you cause it to move - in stroke play this isn't relevant (18-3b for those interested)
 
Thanks guys for the guidance/ advice. I thought that might be the case that i could return my lie to its original state before it was buried by my playing partner's shot.

I will look knowledgeable in the clubhouse next week when I tell my mates what we should have done! (it doesnt happen very often! me looking knowledgeable that is!)

Just one more point,

Colin said 'In your circumstance where both balls are left in place, if the lie of the second ball to be played is altered by the stroke at the first ball, the player is entitled to the lie he had and can in equity (Rule 1-4) mark, lift and clean his ball and restore the original lie. '

If my playing partner 'altered my lie' should he have suffered a penalty for this as he did not ask for me to mark my ball?
 
It's entirely up the player whose turn it is to play whether he wants another ball to be lifted. There is no penalty in either match play or stroke for altering the other player's lie - eg covering it with sand - but as Duncan points out, there is a penalty for causing your opponent's ball to move in match play so it makes sense to ask your opponent to lift it if that might happen. The chances in the situation you describe are high, I would say. The wedgeload of sand you shift will leave a hole, with every chance that sand flowing in to the hole will move your opponent's ball.
 
Interesting situation and surprised that the first player didn't ask for the ball to be lifted as it was so close.

The first sentence of Colin's last post is important. Except on the green you can't lift your ball because you think it might interfere with the play of another player. It is entirely for the other player to say so and if he/she doesn't want you to lift it you can't. No harm asking though.

It is different if you think a ball may assist another player though. Then it is your decision and you can lift your ball and you can also ask for any other player's ball to be lifted.
 
Top