4 Man Texas Scramble

Lol - even more basically there's no penalty for the people gaining those fantastic advantages anyway!

It's the person putting who is being penalised under 14-2b.

I think there were some crossed wires in that post.
PLease clarify, if your partner/side stands behind you whilst you putt they incur a 2 stroke pen - If an opponent does this he/they are not penalised . How do you get an opponent to not stand behind you or the hole as it only appears to be bad etiquette.
 
and if they repeatedly do this or refuse to move ?

The rest of the round becomes very frosty 😁. A proper rules person will come along shortly but I'm sure I remember this question on a previous thread. From memory you can't force someone to move. You can ask but ultimately if they refuse there is little you can do to force the issue. Obviously you would hope it would not get to that point and the person would follow any request to move.
 
A proper rules person will come along shortly but I'm sure I remember this question on a previous thread. From memory you can't force someone to move. You can ask but ultimately if they refuse there is little you can do to force the issue. Obviously you would hope it would not get to that point and the person would follow any request to move.
A proper (ie qualified) rules person (of whom a few have already replied) may well point you to rule 33-7 If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.
 
PLease clarify, if your partner/side stands behind you whilst you putt they incur a 2 stroke pen - If an opponent does this he/they are not penalised . How do you get an opponent to not stand behind you or the hole as it only appears to be bad etiquette.
Remember that Etiquette is part of the Rules. As noted by rulefan, a referee will insist the player move; ultimately relying on Rule 3-4 (stroke play) and Decision 2/3 (match play).
 
A proper (ie qualified) rules person (of whom a few have already replied) may well point you to rule 33-7 If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.

They hadn't replied on this specific question on this thread up to this point :ears:.

That's interesting. It is not a given that a committee would view it a serious breach though is it? Some may, some may not. It also doesn't help the situation at that moment. The person putting can not point to that rule and state the person must move as the rule needs a decision to be made by a body not there to answer the question.
 
They hadn't replied on this specific question on this thread up to this point :ears:.

That's interesting. It is not a given that a committee would view it a serious breach though is it? Some may, some may not. It also doesn't help the situation at that moment. The person putting can not point to that rule and state the person must move as the rule needs a decision to be made by a body not there to answer the question.
Neither Rule 3-4 or Decision 2/3 require Committee involvement.
 
Thanks - I wonder how many reading this site go and stand on the Tee directly behind those teeing off, not quite what the OP was about for which I apologise but I find it as offputting as someone standing directly behind the hole I`m putting to.
 
The statement in the Etiquette section of the Rules on which a breach of R3-4 or D2/3 would be be based is

Players should not stand close to or directly behind the ball, or directly behind the hole, when a player is about to play.
 
Sure?
Because 2 of my mates had a proper row today over that scenario.
One saying you could the other saying you couldn't.

As Liverpoolphil pointed out Texas Scrambles are not covered by R&A rules so it's up to each inderviduel club to set out the rules, every T/S I've played in the only rules I've been told is how many drives you have. Never seen anyone pulled up for doing this.
 
You have lost me completely with that one!

Obviously the competition rules themselves should be printed out ( ColinL in known to have an excellently words and thought out version!) And yes I'm aware that most organisers don't bother, or think there's nothing to really worry about and people all know what they are doing etc etc

My point is that over and above that, drawing people's attention to 14.2b is more appropriate than putting in a line that simply says all other rules of golf apply.

Sorry Duncan, I misunderstood your point
 
As Liverpoolphil pointed out Texas Scrambles are not covered by R&A rules so it's up to each inderviduel club to set out the rules, every T/S I've played in the only rules I've been told is how many drives you have. Never seen anyone pulled up for doing this.

The *format* isn't covered, you're still playing golf, and therefore the rules of strokeplay, with adjustments for the minutiae of a scramble, apply.
 
PLease clarify, if your partner/side stands behind you whilst you putt they incur a 2 stroke pen - If an opponent does this he/they are not penalised . How do you get an opponent to not stand behind you or the hole as it only appears to be bad etiquette.

No. If your partner stands behind you whilst you make a stroke you get penalised under 14-2b
 
Top