3 off the tee

Cool nugget of info
Whats the guidance on replacing a :confused: obstruction after a stroke and is there consideration to order of play both for replacing moveable obstruction and in the scenario of a ball rebounding to teeing ground and poss furthest from hole etc

I'm not quite sure of the question(s) but here goes anyway.

There is nothing in the Rules about replacing a movable obstruction but obviously it would be highly inconsiderate not to do so if it is part of the course markings like a tee marker, distance marker etc. Some other obstructions you might pick up and put in a bin. A club someone left behind, you would shove in your bag and hand in when you finished. . ......... various answers depending on what the obstruction is. If it were something you should replace, you obviously do so immediately after your stroke but I'm not sure how order of play comes into it.*

Are you asking about the order of play if, say, you had the honour and your ball rebounded off a tree back on to the teeing ground? I don't think the Rules consider that possibility, but I'd suggest that once everyone had picked themselves out of wherever they had dived for cover, you should continue with the order of play as established by the scores at the previous hole, leaving your second shot at the ball on the teeing ground till after the others had teed off. If it was interfering with where another player wanted to tee up, it could be marked, lifted but not cleaned.

Have I answered questions you weren't asking? :confused:

*And while handing out these nuggets, a wee reminder that boundary posts are not obstructions, movable or immovable. They cannot be moved and there is no relief from interference by them.
 
Last edited:
Ok, so here's the pedant in me coming out...

Having been guided by the thread to look at rule 11, and having just re-read it several times, there is no reference in it (nor in 20-5) as to when the ball is in play. Both only make reference to to what you may do whilstputting a ball into play. But the original answer of "when you make a stroke at it" is correct - but decision 11-3/3 makes it clear this stems from the definition of ball in play and not from rule 11.

My original confusion arose from the fact that one had already put a ball in play with the first shot, so I couldn't work out why 20-4 did not apply. But it's because the ball being used under s&d has not yet been in play on that hole and the shot is being played from the teeing ground.

Pedantry over and thanks all.

Now here, you are wrong!

Easiest done on t'internet, but same applies in written copy. I find USGA version easiest to use in general http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-01/ though R&A Version http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Rules-of-Golf.aspx#/rules/ can be better if trying to 'Find' something.

Go to 11-3 - which mentions '(not) in play'. Note 'in play' is highlighted and italicised. Click on the highlighted words and hey-presto, the definition pops up! Equivalent in R&A version - and indeed the Book, but that's a manual lookup to definitions which are near the front.

It's all there really!
 
Last edited:
I'm not quite sure of the question(s) but here goes anyway.

There is nothing in the Rules about replacing a movable obstruction but obviously it would be highly inconsiderate not to do so if it is part of the course markings like a tee marker, distance marker etc. Some other obstructions you might pick up and put in a bin. A club someone left behind, you would shove in your bag and hand in when you finished. . ......... various answers depending on what the obstruction is. If it were something you should replace, you obviously do so immediately after your stroke but I'm not sure how order of play comes into it.*

Are you asking about the order of play if, say, you had the honour and your ball rebounded off a tree back on to the teeing ground? I don't think the Rules consider that possibility, but I'd suggest that once everyone had picked themselves out of wherever they had dived for cover, you should continue with the order of play as established by the scores at the previous hole, leaving your second shot at the ball on the teeing ground till after the others had teed off. If it was interfering with where another player wanted to tee up, it could be marked, lifted but not cleaned.

Have I answered questions you weren't asking? :confused:

*And while handing out these nuggets, a wee reminder that boundary posts are not obstructions, movable or immovable. They cannot be moved and there is no relief from interference by them.

Cheers Colin, yeah you sussed the questions just fine. I was thinking about the timing of removing & replacing a tee marker as a moveable obstruction in relation to order of play where the rebounded ball could be further from the hole than an FC despite FC's potentially not even putting a ball in play yet

Thanks
 
I was thinking of the order of play in the same way as playing a provisional ball after everyone has teed off.

However, later on in the playing of a hole, the player whose ball is furthest from the hole after a rebound should play first.
 
Top