2 Questions please guys ,,

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
9,146
Location
Emerald Isle
Visit site
1 ,, tee shot , swing and a miss .. counts as a shot, but do u play your second off the tee ? or do u have to drop on the tee box ?.. havent witnessed it until yesterday .. i had no idea of the ruleing on it ( i reckon ya just play ur 2nd of the tee , not sure tho)

2 i know if you touch the ball with you club and it doesnt move off its spot its not a pen , if your off the green & moving a leaf and you touch it with your finger but doesnt move off its spot does the same rule apply or is it different if you touch it with your hand


Thanks in advance
 
Last edited:
swing and a miss. stroke counts and play as it lies (ie from the tee). if the ball feel off the tee during the miss then can't retee it.

2. as long as ball isn't moved you are fine.
 
1 ,, tee shot , swing and a miss .. counts as a shot, but do u play your second off the tee ? or do u have to drop on the tee box ?.. havent witnessed it until yesterday .. i had no idea of the ruleing on it ( i reckon ya just play ur 2nd of the tee , not sure tho)

I know it has been answered, but it's probably worth mentioning the definition of a stroke in the Rules of Golf is the “forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if the player checks his downswing voluntarily before the club head reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.”

Decision 14/1.5 asks, if a player who begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball decides during the downswing not to strike the ball and is unable to stop his swing, but swings over the top of the ball instead, has he made a stroke? The answer is that altering the path of the swing to miss the ball is the same as checking the downswing. Additionally, if the player missed the ball, but there is any doubt as to the player’s intention the stroke would count.

Guess that's where it comes down to the spirit of the game and application of the rules. Could a player argue he deliberately missed? Yes they can. Would you believe it if an amateur said that had? Probably not :)
 
2 i know if you touch the ball with you club and it doesnt move off its spot its not a pen , if your off the green & moving a leaf and you touch it with your finger but doesnt move off its spot does the same rule apply or is it different if you touch it with your hand


Thanks in advance

you need to be a little careful around this area - if you deliberately touch your ball with your club, but it doesn't move, you are subject to penalty! If you accidentally do so (hand/club etc then the issue simply becomes whether it moves. To avoid confusion about whether a club placed behind the ball in the act of addressing it is a deliberate act resulting in the club touching the ball that situation is covered by an explicit exception in 18-2 ie whilst it may be a deliberate act it is exempt from the application of the rule.

18-2a/31 covers the specific situation you describe in detail. because it's accidental and the ball doesn't move there is no penalty.
 
By adjusting the height of the tee you are playing the ball from a different place and have, in effect, played under Rule 27-1 (stroke and distance).

You could, if you like, lift the ball, remove the tee which is a movable obstruction, drop the ball at that spot and play without penalty. (Rule 24-1b)
 
I didn't know that , what rule covers that ?.

[h=2]18-2a/1[/h][h=4]Player Who Misses Tee Shot Tees Ball Lower Before Making Next Stroke[/h]Q.A player playing from the teeing ground misses the ball completely. He pushes his tee further into the ground and plays. What is the ruling?
A.When the player made a stroke, the ball was in play (see Definition of "Ball in Play"). By pushing the tee further into the ground, he moved the ball and incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, when the player made a stroke at the ball without replacing it, he played under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-1a). This procedure overrides Rule 18-2a and, therefore, the penalty under Rule 18-2a does not apply.
 
you need to be a little careful around this area - if you deliberately touch your ball with your club, but it doesn't move, you are subject to penalty! If you accidentally do so (hand/club etc then the issue simply becomes whether it moves. To avoid confusion about whether a club placed behind the ball in the act of addressing it is a deliberate act resulting in the club touching the ball that situation is covered by an explicit exception in 18-2 ie whilst it may be a deliberate act it is exempt from the application of the rule.

18-2a/31 covers the specific situation you describe in detail. because it's accidental and the ball doesn't move there is no penalty.

I can see where the exact wording is important / imperative all right ,

Thank You

By adjusting the height of the tee you are playing the ball from a different place and have, in effect, played under Rule 27-1 (stroke and distance).

You could, if you like, lift the ball, remove the tee which is a movable obstruction, drop the ball at that spot and play without penalty. (Rule 24-1b)

Good to know both of them rules , as i say ive never come across his before ever

18-2a/1

Player Who Misses Tee Shot Tees Ball Lower Before Making Next Stroke

Q.A player playing from the teeing ground misses the ball completely. He pushes his tee further into the ground and plays. What is the ruling?
A.When the player made a stroke, the ball was in play (see Definition of "Ball in Play"). By pushing the tee further into the ground, he moved the ball and incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, when the player made a stroke at the ball without replacing it, he played under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-1a). This procedure overrides Rule 18-2a and, therefore, the penalty under Rule 18-2a does not apply.


Thank you

& thanks to all for your reply's and further questions
 
1 ,, tee shot , swing and a miss .. counts as a shot, but do u play your second off the tee ? or do u have to drop on the tee box ?.. havent witnessed it until yesterday .. i had no idea of the ruleing on it ( i reckon ya just play ur 2nd of the tee , not sure

Thanks in advance
'There is no such thing as an air shot, only a practice swing.' Leslie Nielsen in 'Bad Golf Made Easier'. :rofl:
 
Funny how one type of "practice swing" produces a look of utter astonishment and a choice word or three, while another doesn't create the slightest reaction. :)
 
By adjusting the height of the tee you are playing the ball from a different place and have, in effect, played under Rule 27-1 (stroke and distance).

You could, if you like, lift the ball, remove the tee which is a movable obstruction, drop the ball at that spot and play without penalty. (Rule 24-1b)

The first part I understand, common sense, but as the fresh air shot was a deliberate attempt to move the ball and therefore a stroke, does this not mean the ball is now in play and lifting it is moving it? also, if allowed then you also have to be careful of not cleaning it I would imagine?
 
Yes, the ball is in play, but you are permitted by Rule 24-1b to lift a ball in play that is lying in or on a movable obstruction, remove the obstruction and , through the green drop the ball. The tee is a movable obstruction. Under that rule you are allowed to clean the ball.
 
Colin , Duncan , Rulefan & others , how long did it take ye guys to get to where ye are today rules knowledge wise ?

Ive gotten a bigger interest since i came on here and started reading this section etc , just wondering how long it took ye guys to get to where ye are and to have the confidence to say , yep thats the rule etc

Any tips etc on expanding knowledge , i do the R&A rules quiz on their website but its bit easier with the options to choose from
 
Top