Wrong Ball poser???

User20205

Money List Winner
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
5,966
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Played in our matchplay this morning, and lost to a par on the 18th:confused::o

However an interesting issue arose in the group behind. A drive went towards a lateral water hazard, there are trees behind & it wasn't certain it had gone in, so a provisional was hit.

The original was in the hazard, provisional picked up & passed onto the the player. He fished out his 1st ball, took a drop & played on.

After walking up the fairway to take his 4th shot he found he had dropped & played his provisional ball. He then conceded the hole.

Is this correct? Do you have to drop the ball fished out from the hazard? What if you couldn't find it, but were certain it had gone in?

I don't know :confused:
 
Agree with BT. He was Ok to carry on.

When taking relief from a water hazard (Rule 26-1) the Rule simply requires you to drop a ball and specifically provides that when proceeding under the Rule the player may substitute a ball.

This is also supported by Decision 15-1/4 - Players Inadvertently Exchange Balls Recovered from Water Hazard, which indicates there would be no penalty in that case.
 
It has to be that you can substitute a ball - you might not be able to retrieve your ball from the water hazard.

The Rules are precise in the use of a and the. Where a Rule says "a ball," as for example, in 26-1 a, b and c, it means any ball. Where a Rule says the ball as, for example, in 18-2, it means you must replace the ball you were playing with.
 
Last edited:
Should add, you won't generally see any pro fish a ball out the water and play it under penalty.

No indeed. That was certainly a different ball some pro or other recently dropped in a wrong place - can't remember his name. :whistle:

There was an occasion - and I genuinely can't remember who it was - when a top player marked and lifted his ball on the green, chucked it to his caddie who failed to catch it before it rolled into the greenside pond. The caddie had to get the shoes and socks off to go fishing for the ball since the requirement is to replace the ball (16-1b) and the boss was heading for a 2 stroke penalty.
 
There was an occasion - and I genuinely can't remember who it was - when a top player marked and lifted his ball on the green, chucked it to his caddie who failed to catch it before it rolled into the greenside pond. The caddie had to get the shoes and socks off to go fishing for the ball since the requirement is to replace the ball (16-1b) and the boss was heading for a 2 stroke penalty.

The joy of google :)
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1309969/Caddies-dropped-ball-costs-4000.html
 
It has to be that you can substitute a ball - you might not be able to retrieve your ball from the water hazard.

The Rules are precise in the use of a and the. Where a Rule says "a ball," as for example, in 26-1 a, b and c, it means any ball. Where a Rule says the ball as, for example, in 18-2, it means you must replace the ball you were playing with.

An example of how carefully The Rules are written!

Once the hole is conceded though, all bets are off about what might have happened!
 
No indeed. That was certainly a different ball some pro or other recently dropped in a wrong place - can't remember his name. :whistle:

There was an occasion - and I genuinely can't remember who it was - when a top player marked and lifted his ball on the green, chucked it to his caddie who failed to catch it before it rolled into the greenside pond. The caddie had to get the shoes and socks off to go fishing for the ball since the requirement is to replace the ball (16-1b) and the boss was heading for a 2 stroke penalty.

There was another one which I've tried to find on Youtube but failed.

Ian Poulter marked his ball on the green after a bad shot, and tried to pick it up with an angry swipe. He didn't get his fingers closed around the ball quick enough and all he succeeded in doing was throwing it into the greenside water hazard.

I can't remember if it was a spectator or his caddie but I'm sure he got the ball back to avoid the penalty.
 
Top