Which Wedge Route to Take?

afromau5

Visit site
Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the game, started in April this year. I've broken the 100 once (98) and regularly getting between 100-109ish at the moment.

I'm using a set of Wilson Staff Di11 irons which have strong lofts - PW is 43 degree.

Above this I have a bit of a mix - Titleist DCI PW (48), Cleveland CG16 (52), Cleveland CBX2 (56), Cleveland CG16 (58) - I only really use a 58 in the bunker or for a lob shot and find 58 easier to hit than a 60 and guess there isnt much difference.

Now the Titleist 48 is old I want to replace so whilst im at it, im not sure if I change the others too so i'm considering a few options.

Option 1

Just get a different 48 and keep all other wedges the same.

Option 2

Go down the route of 46, 50, 54, 58 - Ideally get them all as a CBX2

Option 3

Remove a wedge and go 46, 52, 58 (or 48, 54, 58)

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
One of the wedges I have always carried in 40 years of playing is 52 and for many years it was in fact the only wedge in the bag.

These days I only have 52 medium bounce and 54 high bounce in the bag but my PW is 48.

I understand a lot of new golfers find it easier to change loft rather than to learn how to turn a 54 into a 58+ or a 52 into to a 48.

Given what you have and how you use them simply by a new 48.

SurreyGolfer

Visit site