When you joined your club.....?

cm_qs

Head Pro
Visit site
When you first became members of your respective golf clubs, was there in sort of introductory information given to you as a brand new member?

I joined my local club about three years ago( after a six and a half year wait on the list) and essentially all I received from the club at the time was a letter telling me my application for membership had been accepted and a fortnight to come up with the readies. Once i had tendered payment for my joining fee / annual subscription. I get a tag for my bag and a membership card detailing all the comps / social events for the forthcoming year.

Although I have been playing for many years, I had never been a member of any club before , and had no idea about how to obtain a handicap, the procedure for entering medals, how to book a tee time, get a locker or any of the myriad of small nuggets of information that established club members don't even think about.

Fotunately this wasn't an issue for me personally as I am blessed with " a guid scots tongue in my heid" but not everyone may be as forthright as I and I could see that this situation could be very intimidating for the more reserved individual.

I feel that the club could have made more of an effort to impart basic information to new members and perhaps had some sort of welcome pack or meeting to break the ice a bit for the new guys.

Don't get me wrong, I am not knocking the club for being unfriendly , as this is certainly not the case. I just feel that the new member is assumed to have a preexisting knowledge of the intricate workings of the club which, in my experience, was just not the case.

Any other clubs do it better than mine?

cm_qs

Head Pro
Visit site
I did at the time and the response I got was " we hadn't really considered it, but we will now ". Nothing seems to have changed though.
Perhaps I should leave and join again (after 3 more years on the waiting list) to compare the experience.