What really grinds your gears with golf?

Visit site
Hi all,

New member here. I am an amateur golfer, been out the game for 2 years since I lived in Germany whilst working for adidas, back to Scotland now and very much back in the swing of things. All going well I'll have single figure handicap by the end of the year.

Anyway, intro done, on to my main topic of discussion - "What in golf really grinds your gears?"

I wanted to do a quick qualitative survey of what annoys you in golf, specifically equipment wise. This can be anything from golf clubs, what you'd like to see improved/changed/revert back to something on them, or the simpler things like pitch mark repairers or ball markers (if such a simple thing can improve), do they annoy you in any way for example?. Honestly anything which annoys you on a golf course, and any innovation you'd love to see created or changed to make your day out golfing simpler and care free.

Thanks in advance for your responses, go in to as much detail or as little as you like - one word answers to essays. I'll read them all!

Ciao!
John

Yant

Head Pro
Visit site
Things that annoy;

Manufacturers bring out 'new' clubs (or balls) every year, when in fact, the club are in essence exactly the same.
People that take it too seriously (i'm one of them)
Pitchmarks on the green - there's no need for it!
Jobsworth members that think they own the place

Things i'd like to see;

GPS golf ball locators!

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
Nothing major or I would not play. Saying that:

Long par 3's are a grave disappointment and increasingly common
Inevitably, players who refuse to let you through even though they are clearly holding you up

I'd like to see 9 hole competitions. 18 is often too much time wise for me and others. I'd play more comps if they were 9 hole.

Khamelion

Tour Winner
Visit site
Things that annoy;

People that take it too seriously