what is a medal?

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site
Taken from the website "About" golf section.

Definition: "Medal play" is simply another term for "stroke play." That is, a round of golf in which the score is kept by counting strokes and totaling them.

rosecott

Money List Winner
Visit site
hi i am new to golf only been playing about 6 months and was wondering what a medal is and how it works?

As said, it's a strokeplay competition - but not Stableford or Bogey i.e. every shot you play counts, the total shots added up and your handicap subtracted from that total.

You used to get an actual medal if you had the best score - there are probably some clubs which still award medals.

GreiginFife

Money List Winner
Visit site
sounds like fun how does it work is it over four rounds or a couple of days etc... and does it cost to enter

Usually a single round, although my club has a couple of "special" medals that run over a Sat and Sun.
Fees for entering (that make up the prize fund) vary from club to club and event to event (my club has a range from £5 to enter to £20 for the two dayers).

pbrown7582

Money List Winner
Visit site
Most clubs organise a monthly medal where you play a stroke play competition all shots to count and the winner is the person with the lowest score. If it's gross the actual shots taken if it's a nett comp the winner is lowest with handicap deducted. Prizes will most often be a medal engraved with month and year and some vouchers tonsprnd in the pro shop. Cost carts from club to club mine is £4. Some courses organise open comps which anyone with an official handicap can enter and generally these cost a bit more although the prizes are generally larger too. Hope that helps.
Welocome to the madhouse. Enjoy!!

bees1987

Hacker
Visit site
thats pretty good but what stops people from lieing about there score and is it on one set day or can you play any day and enter

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site